FirmnessExtra Firm; Firm Pillow Top; Medium; Medium Pillow Top; Plush; Plush Pillow Top
Height13.5 to 14.75 in across Series One feel options.
Trial100-Night Trial, beautyrest.com orders only
Warranty10-Year Warranty
The 30-second verdict
Yes, for most buyers who want an innerspring with strong edge support. The catch is side-sleeping comfort: Sleep Foundation's testers said it felt firmer than preferred or needed more cushioning. For cooler sleep, the Saatva Classic is a better fit: Sleep Foundation rated its temperature control 10/10 versus 8.5/10 for Series One. The Saatva Classic Queen price is $2,229; the Beautyrest Black Series One Extra Firm Queen list price is $2,199. Buy it only if back support and edge security matter more than side-sleeping cushioning or cooler sleep.
Best forBack sleepers seeking steady support
Not ideal forSide sleepers who want extra cushioning
Beautyrest Black
Firmness options6Extra Firm, Firm Pillow Top, Medium, Medium Pillow Top, Plush, Plush Pillow Top
Sizes5Twin XL to Cal King
Pros
Broad feel range. Beautyrest lists options from Extra Firm to Plush Pillow Top, giving shoppers a range of surface feels.
Back sleeper comfort. Sleep Foundation reports that its back-sleeping testers found the mattress comfortable across weight groups.
Edge security. Sleep Foundation rated edge support 9/10, and its tester felt secure sitting or lying at the edge.
Cons
Partner movement. Sleep Foundation rated Extra Firm motion isolation 6/10 and described strong bounce, which may matter if a partner notices movement.
Cannot flip. Beautyrest says the Series One is one-sided and cannot be flipped; rotation from head to foot is optional.
Owner wear reports. Some Series One Medium owners on Homemakers report early softening or body impressions.
How firm is the Beautyrest Black, and which firmness should you pick?
Match your pick to the outside reading closest to the feel you prefer. Beautyrest's options are Extra Firm, Firm Pillow Top, Medium, Medium Pillow Top, Plush, and Plush Pillow Top. For Series 1, GoodBed rates Extra Firm as Very Firm (2), Firm Pillow Top as Firm (3), Medium as Medium (5), Medium Pillow Top as Medium-Soft (6), and both Plush choices as Very Soft (8) on its rating scale.
For a very firm feel, choose Extra Firm. Sleep Foundation rates it firm (8) on its firmness scale. Medium matches GoodBed's Medium reading, while either Plush option matches its Very Soft reading. GoodBed gives the Plush choices the same score, so its readings do not distinguish between them.
Extra Firm
Firm Pillow Top
Medium
Medium Pillow Top
Plush
Plush Pillow Top
Firmness options: in the order Beautyrest lists them.
Tester readings
How outside testers rate its firmness
Every tester uses its own scale, so each reading is shown as that tester wrote it.
Is the Beautyrest Black right for your sleep position and body weight?
The Beautyrest Black looks more promising for back and stomach sleepers than side sleepers, though side comfort changes by weight. Combo sleepers should weigh their usual positions against each other, especially if they spend time on their side.
Under 150 pounds, Sleep Foundation’s side tester found it firmer than preferred, but liked its neutral temperature and felt supported to the edge.
From 150 to 230 pounds, the side tester wanted more cushioning and contouring. Back and stomach support felt close to ideal.
Over 230 pounds, Sleep Foundation’s side rating was 8/10; side sleepers generally found it comfortable, though some preferred a softer feel. Back and stomach sleepers each rated it 9.5/10. Support was ideal for many back sleepers in this band.
Back: lying face up, notice whether your lower back feels comfortable and supported.
Sleep Foundation gave edge support 9/10. Its tester felt secure lying along the edge and sitting there, which made the bed feel bigger.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Your body weight
Side sleepers
Back sleepers
Stomach sleepers
Over 230 lbs
8/10
9.5/10
9.5/10
9 / 10
Edge support, outside tester
9/10, Sleep Foundation
Neck: lying on your side, ask if your pillow and the bed keep your head in line with your spine.
Shoulders: ask if the shoulder under you settles in, or if you feel a pinch after a few minutes.
Back: lying face up, slide a hand under your waist. A big gap or no room at all is a sign of a poor match.
Hips: ask if your hips dip lower than your shoulders, like lying in a shallow bowl.
Four checks: lie still for a few minutes in the position you sleep in most, then notice how each spot feels. These are comfort checks, not a medical test.Sources (1)
The Series One may be worth considering for back pain, but its support claims do not promise pain relief. Elite Sleep Reviews says the Medium Pillow Top can be effective because its medium feel supports proper spinal alignment. Beautyrest says Series One's coils offer individualized support and lists it for back and stomach sleepers. Elite Sleep Reviews may earn commissions from qualifying purchases, a detail to weigh when reading its view.
What the brand says
Beautyrest says Series One's coils offer individualized support and lists it as made for back and stomach sleepers.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Tester
What it says about back pain
Elite Sleep Reviews
Says the Series One Medium Pillow Top can be effective for back pain because its medium feel supports proper spinal alignment.
Ongoing back pain? Ask a doctor or physical therapist what support your back needs before you buy.
Sleep Foundation gives the Beautyrest Black Series One a Temperature Control rating of 8.5/10, a strong signal for shoppers concerned about heat. It is an outside tester's result, not a promise that the mattress will feel cool to every sleeper. This is a rating, not a thermometer reading in degrees, so use it as one point of comparison when weighing temperature comfort.
8.5 / 10
Cooling, Sleep Foundation
Temperature Control rating: 8.5/10 for Beautyrest Black Series One
Yes, you may feel your partner move, and the results vary by firmness and tester. Sleep Foundation rated Series One Extra Firm motion isolation 6/10 and described its bounce as strong. GoodBed rated Series 1 Plush Very Good (8) for motion isolation and High (7) for bounce. Its Series 1 Medium scored Good (7) for motion isolation and High (7) for bounce. GoodBed's Series 1 Extra Firm scored OK (5) and Very High (8), respectively. For a light sleeper, Plush is the better-supported pick here, but its High bounce means movement may still be noticeable.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Tester
Motion and bounce reading
Sleep Foundation
Series One Extra Firm: motion isolation 6/10; the tester described the bounce as strong.
GoodBed
Motion isolation Very Good (8). Bounce High (7). Series 1 Plush.
GoodBed
Motion isolation Good (7). Bounce High (7). Series 1 Medium.
GoodBed
Motion isolation OK (5). Bounce Very High (8). Series 1 Extra Firm.
The Beautyrest Black is built with layers in the order shown below, from top to bottom. Compare the component order and stated functions with another bed's list before choosing which build better matches what you value.
Quilted surface.
Cover. Beautyrest says it feels cool-to-the-touch and helps transfer heat away from the body.
Beautyrest® Gel Memory Foam. Beautyrest says it offers contouring pressure relief.
AirCool HD Foam is foam.
Triple-Stranded Pocketed Coil® Technology. It uses pocketed coils. Beautyrest says it offers lasting, individualized support.
Layers: in the order the brand lists them. Layer order only, not to scale.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Layer
What it is made of
Beautyrest® Gel Memory Foam
Gel memory foam
AirCool HD Foam
Foam
Triple-Stranded Pocketed Coil® Technology
Pocketed coils
Also in the build: Quilted surface, Cover. The sources we read name these layers but not what they are made of.
Beautyrest says the Black's foams are CertiPUR-US® certified, and the certification covers foam only. The brand says these foams are made without formaldehyde, flame retardants, prohibited phthalates, or heavy metals, and meet low-VOC standards for indoor air quality. For shoppers comparing foam labels, these are the specific material and indoor-air claims attached to this certification.
Beautyrest says this mattress can use a platform bed, slatted base, or adjustable bed frame. A box spring is not needed, but its base must be sturdy and stable. If your current base is one of those styles and meets that support rule, you can use it instead of buying another.
How long will it last, and does it need flipping or rotating?
Sleep Foundation's 7.5/10 durability score for the Series One Extra Firm is a rating, not a lifespan in years.
Beautyrest says it is normal for the mattress to break in and soften with use over time, so expect its feel to change as it settles.
Beautyrest says the mattress is one-sided, so do not flip it. Rotation is optional and not required by the warranty. If you rotate it head to foot, about every 6 months is the rule of thumb.
Rotate or flip
Do not flip; rotation is optional, head-to-foot (180 degrees), with about every 6 months as a rule of thumb.
Beautyrest says free RXO White Glove delivery is available for most items; in-a-box items ship by FedEx Ground to your front door. Expect 2 to 4 weeks, so plan around that window. White Glove setup is included on most items, and old mattress and box spring removal is included at $0.
Typical wait: 2 to 4 weeks
How it ships: RXO White Glove delivery for most items; FedEx Ground to the front door for in-a-box items
Setup: Yes, on most items (White Glove)
Old mattress: $0, old mattress and box spring removal included with White Glove
Beautyrest says the Black has a 100-night trial; its return terms are Free pickup, no fee. That gives you time to decide whether to keep the mattress without paying for pickup or return. Each household may make one return or exchange every 12 months; returns and exchanges share that limit. Use the trial to judge fit before you make your decision.
Your trial, night by night
Day 1The bed arrives and the trial starts
Night 100The last night of the trial
What each choice costs you
Keep itNothing more to do
Return itFreePickup, no fee. Full refund
Swap itUses up your yearly limit
Not covered by the trial: Beds bought from other stores
Trial: 100 nights. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
A warranty lasting 10 Years covers sag, not regular-use softening. Codes 9 and 10 have 10 no-charge years. Most codes cover 1.5 in; code 10 covers 0.75 in. Code 6 lasts 10 years; its first 3 have no-charge repair or replacement. Owner cost after year 3 is not stated. The previous letter-code chart gives no-charge coverage for each code’s full term.
An inadequate foundation, burns, cuts, tears, liquid damage, unsanitary conditions or law-tag removal voids coverage. Codes 9, 10, 92 and 6 cover no-charge repair or replacement; replacement is the exclusive remedy. Owners pay transport, inspection and removal outside California.
Warranty Duration
10 Years
No-charge years depend on the warranty code on the law tag (10 for codes 9 and 10)
Sag needed for a claim
1.5 in on most warranty codes; 0.75 in on code 10
0.75 in for warranty code 10; softening from regular use is not covered
Years 1 to 2 Coverage
Chart: no-charge repair or replacement (codes 9, 10, 92, 6); written terms: replacement is the exclusive remedy
The owner pays transport, inspection and removal, except in California
Years 3+ Coverage
Depends on the code: no charge through year 10 on codes 9 and 10; code 6 no-charge ends after year 3
Fairness Replacement
No proration schedule on the warranty pages or the previous letter-code chart
Current chart, code 6: 10 years total, 3 no-charge years, owner cost after that not stated. The previous letter-code chart lists no-charge years equal to the full term for every code
Foundation Requirement
Adequate foundation required
An inadequate foundation, burns, cuts, tears, liquid damage, unsanitary conditions or a removed law tag void coverage
Owners describe both comfort and concerns about softening in the Series One Medium. Some praise its comfort. Others report that it quickly shifted from medium to soft, formed a permanent body indent, or sagged enough to make them feel they might roll off the bed. That contrast matters if you want a steady medium feel: the praise is encouraging, but the complaints point to a possible change in feel. Treat these as individual owner experiences, not a promise that your mattress will feel the same.
What owners like
Comfort: Recent Series One Medium owners praise its comfort.
What owners complain about
Sagging: Some Series One Medium owners report early softening or body impressions.
Beautyrest Black's siblings offer distinct fit choices; the rival picks below suit different needs.
Pick Soothing Nights for a hybrid mattress rolled in a box.
Pick Dream Weaver for back or stomach sleep and a firm quilted innerspring.
Pick Dream Weaver Hybrid for an affordable hybrid with a responsive surface.
Pick Level Two Hybrid for a smooth, contouring signature hybrid that Beautyrest lists for all sleepers.
Pick World Class Hybrid for extra pressure relief and a smooth, contouring surface.
Pick Black Hybrid for a smooth, contouring surface that lets you interact with its foams sooner than quilted innerspring models.
Pick Black Hybrid XCS for extra cooling or split-head adjustment.
For a springy feel and cooler sleep, compare Saatva Classic. Its Queen price is $2,229. Sleep Foundation scored it 9.5 overall and 10/10 for temperature control; its tester noted airflow through the coils.
Allswell Luxe Hybrid Mattress may suit buyers with a tighter budget. Sleep Foundation rated it 7.6 overall and cited its price as a practical plus when spending is a key concern.
Pick it if: extra pressure relief and a smooth contouring surface are priorities.
Another Beautyrest model
Beautyrest Black Hybrid
Pick it if: you prefer a smooth contouring surface that lets you interact with the foams sooner than on quilted innerspring models.
Another Beautyrest model
Beautyrest Black Hybrid XCS
Pick it if: extra cooling or split-head adjustment is a priority.
Another brand
Saatva Classic, Saatva
Pick it if: coils, bounce, or cooler sleep matter: Sleep Foundation scored it 9.5 overall and 10/10 for temperature control, and its tester praised airflow through the coils.
Another brand
Allswell Luxe Hybrid Mattress, Allswell
Pick it if: value is the priority: Sleep Foundation rated it 7.6 overall and lists its accessible price point as a plus for value-minded shoppers.
Has the Beautyrest Black changed since it launched?
This Beautyrest Black version launched in 2024, when the line replaced the B, L, C and K names with Series One through Four. The four quilted innerspring levels give shoppers distinct builds to compare. The 2024 Edition also added foam upgrades for responsive pressure relief and micro coils for conforming support. Changes vary by series: Series Two adds quilted memory foam and Micro Diamond memory foam; Series Three adds Self Response latex and 2K nano coils on Queen Pillow Top models; Series Four uses 4K nano coils on all Queen models.
2014Change
Beautyrest Black was relaunched with a focus on technology, luxury and a campaign featuring Patrick Dempsey.
2016Change
Twelve new models were set to debut in the premium Beautyrest Black line.
We read the maker's own pages, outside testers and owner reviews, and we date every fact. We do not test beds ourselves. Every source we used is listed below with the day we checked it.
Step 01Brand
What Beautyrest publishes
We read the product page, spec tabs and policy pages for layers, sizes, list prices, trial and warranty.
Step 02Testers
Outside test results
We credit each score to the tester that gave it and never blend scores into one number.
Step 03Owners
Owner reviews
Where a rating exists, we read the owner reviews behind it and outside summaries of what owners like and dislike.
We could not find enough good evidence to answer these questions yet, so this page leaves them out: Where to Try, Fiberglass.