ReST Bed Mattress Review

Models 7 models
Feels Soft
Trial 90 nights ($199 to return)
Warranty 10 years, non-prorated
Owner Reviews 4.76 from 618 reviews (brand's site)
Ship Type White Glove available

The 30-Second Verdict: Quick Summary

ReST Bed was a US smart airbed brand from Responsive Surface Technology in Atlanta. It paired 13 inches of gel memory foam with 3 or 5 pressure-sensing air zones per side, plus an app and NightVision sleep tracking. Prices ran from $4,274 to $8,548, with a 90-night trial and a 10-year non-prorated warranty. It suits couples and people with pain. The big catch is that orders have been paused since early 2023, and both official domains are now parked. You can't buy it today.

Original ReST Bed Original ReST Bed, product photo
Original ReST Bed, product photo
Firmness Adjustable, soft (3) to firm (8) Not yet researched
Mattress Type Smart airbed 13 inches tall
Queen $ $4,999 $4,999
Coil Count Not yet researched Not yet researched
Key Strengths
  • Couples who want separate firmness per side
  • Back, hip and joint pain
  • Side and back sleepers
  • Tech fans who like sleep data
  • Adjustable base owners
Good to Know
  • Budget shoppers
  • Stomach sleepers needing firm support
  • Anyone who wants no app or pump noise
  • Restless combination sleepers
  • Shoppers who need to buy today
Chapter 01

Is ReST Bed the best mattress for you?

Good fit: couples who want independent firmness per side plus five-zone adjustment (head, shoulders, lumbar, hips, legs); back, hip and joint pain sufferers; athletes and active sleepers; side and back sleepers from under 130 lbs to 230+ lbs who like a memory-foam feel over air support; tech enthusiasts who want live pressure mapping and nightly sleep data; owners of adjustable bases (any base works, split-top and split-king sizes available); anyone who values modular, replaceable components.

Poor fit: budget shoppers (a queen was $4,999-$5,649 list); stomach sleepers who need consistently firm support (Sleep Foundation scores stomach sleepers 6.5/5/5 out of 10 by weight); sleepers who want zero tech, no app and no pump noise; restless combination sleepers (ease of movement 5/10, no bounce); shoppers who need to buy today (ReST is not accepting orders; both official domains are parked landers as of Sept 22, 2026); buyers who need confidence that a 10-year warranty will still be honored and parts shipped; small rooms without under-bed space and outlets for pumps.

Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Sleep Foundation, Mattress Clarity, Sleep Advisor, No Sleepless Nights. Their scores: Sleep Foundation 8.3/10, Mattress Clarity 4.1/5, Sleep Advisor 4.4/5. Model they tested: ReST Original Smart Bed, 13 inch, 5 zones per side. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.

ReST Bed (Responsive Surface Technology, Atlanta, launched 2015) was a US smart-airbed brand: a 13-inch gel memory foam bed over 3 or 5 pressure-sensing air zones per side, app plus NightVision sleep tracking. Published price band $4,274-$8,548, 90-night trial, 10-year non-prorated warranty. Best for couples and pain relief; biggest caveat: orders paused since early 2023 and both official domains are now parked.

2015, Atlanta
Launched

4.76 from 618 reviews
Owner reviews

10-year non-prorated
Warranty

When ReST Bed makes sense
  • Couples who want separate firmness per side
  • Back, hip and joint pain
  • Side and back sleepers
  • Tech fans who like sleep data
  • Adjustable base owners
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
  • Budget shoppers
  • Stomach sleepers needing firm support
  • Anyone who wants no app or pump noise
  • Restless combination sleepers
  • Shoppers who need to buy today
Review site scores

How the big review sites score ReST Bed

Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication Reported Score
Sleep Foundation
8.3/10
Mattress Clarity
4.1/5
Sleep Advisor
4.4/5

Main configuration: ReST Original Smart Bed, 13 inch, 5 zones per side. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.

Reading the scores

Why we don't average the scores

Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02

Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you

Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.

Sleep Foundation's test-lab scoring is per position and weight (10-point scale): Side sleepers 9.5 under 130 lbs, 9.5 at 130-230 lbs and 6.5 above 230 lbs; Back sleepers 9.5, 6.5 and 6.5; Stomach sleepers 6.5, 5 and 5 - in other words side and back sleepers are the sweet spot, stomach sleepers over 130 lbs the weakest match.

Firmness is adjustable from soft (3) to firm (8) with three app modes: Manual (lock any of the zones), Auto-Position (preset levels for back and side sleeping that switch as you roll) and Automatic (you pick an overall feel and the bed re-inflates each zone as you move).

Side sleepers should keep shoulders and hips soft and lumbar firmer; back sleepers benefit from a medium-firm to firm lumbar setting; stomach sleepers should firm the hips and abdomen. Couples get fully independent left/right control with separate chambers, and the brand claims no gap between sleepers - useful for mixed-weight and mixed-preference pairs. Athletes and people with localized pain can soften just the sore zone.

Because the top is 4 inches of memory foam, the bed suits people who like foam contouring but need more support than foam alone; combination sleepers and anyone wanting bounce should note testers rated ease of movement only 5/10, and hot sleepers rated temperature control 6.5/10.

Firmness finder

Which ReST Bed feel fits you?

Weight chart not yet researched

Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether ReST Bed publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.

Four alignment checkpoints against a neutral posture line Neck Shoulders Lower back Hips level with spine sink in, no pinch no gap below no sag Straight spine line
  1. Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
  2. Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
  3. Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
  4. Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03

Compare the mattresses

Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.

ReST Bed lists 7 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.

Every model in the ReST lineup, with the sizes and prices published on the brand's own archived pages.

1) Original ReST Bed (2015 launch; sold as ReST Original Smart Bed by 2021): the flagship 13-inch smart airbed - 5 zones per side, 4 inch gel-infused memory foam, sensor layer, under-bed pump, 3 app modes (Manual, Auto-Position, Automatic), NightVision sleep tracking; Twin XL $3,999, Queen $4,999, Queen Split Top $5,999, Eastern King $5,799, California King $5,799, Eastern King Split Top $6,399, California King Split Top $6,399, Split King (2x Twin XL) $7,998, Split California King $7,998 (archived official product page, June 2021); the 2020 buy-now page listed the same bed as ReST Smart Bed Original starting at $3,799.

2) ReST Smart Bed with Purple Grid (2020), later ReST Original Smart Bed w/ Gel Grid (2021): identical air architecture with a grid comfort layer instead of memory foam for airflow and cooler feel; Twin XL $3,299, Queen $4,699, Eastern King $5,299, California King $5,299, Eastern King Split Top $5,899, Split King $7,598 (archived official product page, Jan 2021); the 2020 buy-now page showed it starting at $3,999.

3) ReST Essential Smart Bed (2020): value 3-zone model (shoulders, lumbar, hips) with 4 inch cooling gel-infused memory foam, automatic real-time response, independent control per side, NightVision, 10-year full warranty; Twin XL $2,499, Queen $2,999 (shown against a $3,499 regular price), Eastern King $3,199, Eastern King Split Top $3,699, California King $3,399, Split King (2) $5,498, financing advertised from $110 per month (archived official product page, Nov 2020); add-ons listed then were Mattress Removal $99, BedJet 3 $389 and Dual Zone BedJet 3 $899.

4) ReST Easy Smart Bed (2021-2022), renamed ReST Single Pump Smart Bed in the final 2022-2023 lineup: entry smart bed, 3 body zones per side, premium memory foam comfort layer, automatic adjustments, single external pump; the archived model-comparison chart lists it at $2,999 queen versus Sleep Number 360 i10, while the archived product page price matrix runs Twin XL $3,499 to Split King $6,998 (captures July 2022).

5) ReST Pump-in-Bed Smart Bed (final 2022-2023 lineup): 3 zones per side, premium memory foam layer, automatic adjustments, ultra-quiet pump housed inside the bed, NightVision sleep monitor; no price list published after the brand stopped taking orders.

6) ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed (final lineup): 5 zones per side, premium memory foam layer, AI Inside sensor technology driving automatic firmness changes, NightVision; the brand's own comparison table lists The ReST Bed at $5,099 against Sleep Number 360 i10 $5,199, Air-Pedic 1000 $5,099 and Eight Sleep Pod Pro Max $3,595 (Dec 2023).

7) ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed with GelGrid (final flagship): 5 zones per side with a 4 inch GelGrid comfort layer (2 inch foam blend plus 2 inch GelGrid) plus AI Inside and NightVision; no price published after orders closed.

8) Accessories and add-ons: BedJet 3 climate comfort system ($389 single / $899 dual zone in 2020-2021, $399 / $999 on a 2021 product page) after the July 2021 BedJet partnership; mattress removal $99; white sheets $194.99; Malouf adjustable base offered free in one 2021 promotion; a separate B2B line, ReST OEM Smart Bed Kits, sold air-element smart-bed kits to other mattress makers (archived March 2023, Las Vegas showroom C1552).

Sizes across the line: Twin XL, Queen, Queen Split Top, Eastern King, California King, Eastern King Split Top, California King Split Top, Split King and Split California King - no Twin and no Full.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual Model Build Profile Firmness (brand words) Queen $
Original ReST Bed, product photo Original ReST Bed 5 zones per side, 4 inches of gel-infused memory foam, a sensor layer, an under-bed pump and NightVision tracking. 13 inches Adjustable, soft (3) to firm (8) $4,999
ReST Original Smart Bed w/ Gel Grid It has the same air setup as the Original, with a grid comfort layer instead of memory foam. 13 inches Adjustable, with a cooler grid layer $4,699
ReST Essential Smart Bed A value model with 3 zones (shoulders, lumbar, hips), 4 inches of cooling gel memory foam and NightVision. 13 inches Adjustable, 3 zones $2,999
ReST Easy / Single Pump Smart Bed An entry model with a premium memory foam comfort layer and a single external pump. 13 inches Adjustable, 3 zones per side $2,999
ReST Pump-in-Bed Smart Bed It has a premium memory foam layer, an ultra-quiet pump inside the bed and a NightVision sleep monitor. 13 inches Adjustable, 3 zones per side Not published
ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed It has a premium memory foam layer and AI Inside sensors that change firmness automatically. 13 inches Adjustable, 5 zones per side $5,099, size not stated
ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed with GelGrid A 4 inch GelGrid comfort layer (2 inches of foam blend plus 2 inches of GelGrid) with AI Inside and NightVision. 13 inches Adjustable, 5 zones per side Not published

Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so. Each model's fire barrier, as the law tag or the brand lists it, is in the materials and safety chapter.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelCoil gaugeCoil countFoam densityLatexILD
Model 1 of 7

Original ReST Bed: Not yet researched

Original ReST Bed, product photo
Original ReST Bed
Original ReST Bed, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, soft (3) to firm (8)
Queen $ $4,999
Tracking NightVision sleep tracking with 3 app modes

5 zones per side, 4 inches of gel-infused memory foam, a sensor layer, an under-bed pump and NightVision tracking.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 2 of 7

ReST Original Smart Bed w/ Gel Grid: Not yet researched

ReST Original Smart Bed w/ Gel Grid
ReST Original Smart Bed w/ Gel Grid, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, with a cooler grid layer
Queen $ $4,699
Not yet researched Not yet researched

It has the same air setup as the Original, with a grid comfort layer instead of memory foam.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 3 of 7

ReST Essential Smart Bed: Value 3-⁠zone model

ReST Essential Smart Bed
ReST Essential Smart Bed, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, 3 zones
Queen $ $2,999
Not yet researched Not yet researched

A value model with 3 zones (shoulders, lumbar, hips), 4 inches of cooling gel memory foam and NightVision.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 4 of 7

ReST Easy / Single Pump Smart Bed: Entry smart bed

ReST Easy / Single Pump Smart Bed
ReST Easy / Single Pump Smart Bed, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, 3 zones per side
Queen $ $2,999
Not yet researched Not yet researched

An entry model with a premium memory foam comfort layer and a single external pump.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 5 of 7

ReST Pump-in-Bed Smart Bed: Not yet researched

ReST Pump-in-Bed Smart Bed
ReST Pump-in-Bed Smart Bed, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, 3 zones per side
Queen $ Not published
Not yet researched Not yet researched

It has a premium memory foam layer, an ultra-quiet pump inside the bed and a NightVision sleep monitor.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 6 of 7

ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed: Not yet researched

ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed
ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, 5 zones per side
Queen $ $5,099, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

It has a premium memory foam layer and AI Inside sensors that change firmness automatically.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 7 of 7

ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed with GelGrid: Not yet researched

ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed with GelGrid
ReST 5-Zone Smart Bed with GelGrid, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 13 inches
Firmness Adjustable, 5 zones per side
Queen $ Not published
Not yet researched Not yet researched

A 4 inch GelGrid comfort layer (2 inches of foam blend plus 2 inches of GelGrid) with AI Inside and NightVision.

Best For

Consider Instead If

The full lineup

Every ReST Bed mattress, past and present

Why this matters to you:
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelSoldStatus
ReST Easy Smart Bed2021-2022No longer sold
ReST Essential Smart Bed2020No longer sold
Original ReST Bed2015 launchNo longer sold

Chapter 04

Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying

Mattress prices and value

Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.

Published price band: $4,274 (Twin XL) to $8,548 (Split King / Split California King) per Sleep Foundation's 2026 review page; that page's summary row reads Price Range: $4,274 - $8,548.

Sleep Advisor's size table (updated May 15, 2026) lists Twin XL $4,274, Queen $5,649, Queen Split Top $6,649, Eastern King $6,549, California King $6,549, Eastern King Split Top $7,149, California King Split Top $6,949, Split King $8,548 and Split California King $8,548.

Earlier official price lists were lower: ReST Original $3,999-$7,998 and ReST Original w/ Gel Grid $3,299-$7,598 (archived 2021 product pages), ReST Essential $2,499-$5,498 (archived Nov 2020) and ReST Easy / Single Pump $3,499-$6,998 (archived July 2022), with the 2020 buy-now page showing the Original from $3,799 and the version with the Purple Grid from $3,999.

Value read: ReST was priced at or above Sleep Number 360 i10 territory - the brand's own archived comparison table shows ReST $5,099 against Sleep Number 360 i10 $5,199, Air-Pedic 1000 $5,099 and Eight Sleep Pod Pro Max $3,595 - so it was a luxury buy, roughly $1,500 above Eight Sleep's flagship on the brand's own numbers and far above any foam or hybrid mattress of similar size.

What you paid for was 10 air chambers (five per side), 20+ patents on the sensing fabric, a pressure-map app and a modular design that lets one part be replaced instead of the whole bed. Add-ons pushed the total up: old-mattress removal $99, BedJet 3 climate unit $389-$399 (dual zone $899-$999), and white-glove delivery was a $199 line item in 2019 before becoming free for US customers from Feb 15, 2021.

Financing was interest-free via SplitIt with no credit check. Verdict: fair value only for sleepers who would actually use per-zone adjustability, and no longer purchasable, so today's value question is moot for new buyers.

ReST Bed prices by size

Twin XL
Not yet researched $4,274
Queen
Not yet researched $5,649
Queen Split Top
Not yet researched $6,649
Eastern King
Not yet researched $6,549
California King
Not yet researched $6,549
Eastern King Split Top
Not yet researched $7,149
California King Split Top
Not yet researched $6,949
Split King
Not yet researched $8,548
Split California King
Not yet researched $8,548

White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.

Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.

Are the expensive ones worth it?

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelBuy ReST Bed IfSkip IfBuy Instead
Chapter 05

How well do the mattresses hold up?

Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.

Warranty headline: 10-year full, non-prorated warranty on the bed and its components, valid to the original purchaser only.

The archived official warranty page spells out that ReST warrants the bed free from defects in workmanship and materials and that it will remain in good working order under normal use for 10 years; because the bed is modular, ReST covers 100 percent of the cost of the replacement component plus shipping to the home for 10 years from delivery, with parts typically shipped in 1-3 days and up to 5-7 business days depending on location.

Covered parts listed: pumps, sensors, support foam layers, edge support rails, adjustable air chambers and the removable top cover. Excluded: normal wear and tear, body impressions not greater than 1.5 inches, abuse or burn damage, and the bundled third-party tablet, which carries its own one-year manufacturer warranty.

Frame requirement: a 5- or 6-legged metal frame for queen and king, a 4-legged metal frame for Twin XL, platform beds generally acceptable. Third-party durability testing: none published - no lab flex or ASTM durability results were found; Sleep Foundation's durability score of 8/10 and Mattress Clarity's 4/5 are tester and construction assessments, not independent lab tests.

The bigger durability question today is service: ReST has not accepted orders since early 2023, has published no closure or service announcement, and both official domains were parked landers as of Sept 22, 2026, so parts availability and warranty service after 2026 cannot be verified; a verified 2026 review also reports the NightVision app stopped delivering nightly data, which points to shrinking app support.

What to watch for, and when:

Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches

Company History & Model Evolution

Show the full company history
2015 Launched

Responsive Surface Technology, Atlanta, launched 2015

March 27, 2017 Denver Mattress national distribution

Denver Mattress Company announced national distribution on March 27, 2017

Feb 15, 2021 White-glove delivery free for US customers

from February 15, 2021 white-glove delivery was required and free for US customers

July 2021 BedJet partnership

after the July 2021 BedJet partnership

Early 2023 Orders paused

ReST has not accepted new orders since early 2023

Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.

What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say

The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYS10-year non-prorated warranty NOT PUBLISHEDNo third-party durability testing published
THE BRAND SAYSModular, replaceable components NOT PUBLISHEDNo closure or service announcement
THE BRAND SAYSMedical-grade RF-welded air chambers NOT PUBLISHEDWarranty service after 2026 unverified
THE BRAND SAYSSleep Foundation durability 8/10 NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched

Where sources disagree

Chapter 06

Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees

Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.

90-night in-home sleep trial on all direct purchases, advertised as risk-free with a money-back guarantee; there was no mandatory break-in period, so a return could be started on any night of the trial, ReST coordinated the pickup, and Sleep Foundation reports a full product refund with no return or restocking fees.

Sleep Advisor's policy section contradicts part of that, reporting that returns are easy but the customer is charged a $199 shipping fee even inside the trial period, and the brand's own FAQ charged $199 for white-glove delivery, so the practical refund could be reduced by shipping. Beds bought from third-party retailers had to be returned to that retailer under its own policy, which Sleep Foundation notes may differ.

Exchanges: no exchange program, exchange window or exchange fee was published by the brand and none could be found as of Sept 2026. Current status: because ReST has not accepted new orders since early 2023, no new trial, return or exchange can be started today, and existing owners have no published returns route beyond the support email support@restperformance.com.

Your trial, night by night
  1. Day 190-night trial starts
  2. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
  3. 90 nightsLast day to start a return
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return it$199ReST coordinated pickup, full product refund
Swap itNot publishedNot yet researched

Not covered by the trial: Not yet researched

Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.

Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from ReST Bed.
Chapter 07

Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal

Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.

Delivery was white-glove only: a two-man crew unboxes the mattress, carries it to the bedroom, sets it up and cleans up, a process the brand said takes about 20 minutes, with the crew calling roughly a day ahead to schedule a window. White-glove delivery and set-up was a $199 fee per the 2019 FAQ, and Sleep Foundation states that from February 15, 2021 white-glove delivery was required and free for US customers.

Canada was served but with an extra $199, for a $398 total white-glove charge, and Alaska and Hawaii carried additional fees. Speed: orders typically shipped within 3 days of receipt with 3-7 days transit, shipping from California. Old-mattress removal was a paid add-on: Mattress Removal $99 on the archived product pages.

Base requirements: the bed is compatible with any adjustable base (no special requirements), a box spring or a frame; the brand's own foundation was optional and industry-standard sizing; a 5- or 6-legged metal frame is required for queen and king and a 4-legged frame for Twin XL for warranty validity.

Installation needs under-bed space for the pump and hoses plus accessible power outlets, and a surge protector is recommended; Split Top queens and kings and Split King (two Twin XLs) exist specifically so adjustable bases can move the head and foot sections independently. In the final years the site advertised Free In-Home Delivery and, before orders closed, delivery was still shown as included.

Typical wait: 3 to 7 days

Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08

Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy

What do the warranties cover?

Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.

10-year non-prorated warranty, original purchaser only, with the exact terms published on the archived official warranty page: ReST warrants the bed free from defects in workmanship and materials and that it remains in good working order under normal use for 10 years.

Coverage is component-based because the bed is modular - pumps, sensors, support foam layers, edge support rails, adjustable air chambers and the removable top cover are all covered, ReST pays 100 percent of the replacement component cost plus shipping to the home for the full 10 years from delivery, and replacement components normally ship in 1-3 days, or up to 5-7 business days depending on location.

Exclusions and conditions: normal wear and tear; body impressions of 1.5 inches or less; burned, abused or otherwise damaged bedding; the bundled third-party tablet, which has only its own one-year manufacturer warranty (ReST offered help sourcing a discounted replacement); coverage transfers to nobody - it is valid only for the original purchaser.

Frame conditions affect validity: a 5- or 6-legged metal bed frame on queen and king, a 4-legged metal frame for Twin XL, and most platform beds are acceptable. Claim route as printed: warranty@restperformance.com or 888.588.1359.

Sleep Foundation summarizes the same policy as a 10-year warranty covering defects in mattress components but not normal wear and tear, with ReST covering shipping on claims and repair or replacement of the defective part. Practical caveat: with the brand not taking orders since early 2023 and its domains parked as of Sept 22, 2026, whether warranty parts and labor are still being honored is not published anywhere we could find.

Measuring a mattress dip with a straight edge and a ruler Straight edge across the bed Dip depth Mattress, nobody lying on it

Covered when the dip is deeper than Body impressions over 1.5 inches, measured with nobody on the bed.

  1. Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
  2. Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
  3. Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Before you set it up

Which bed bases keep your warranty

Warranty rules

Put the mattress on one of the bases marked OK. The wrong base can void the warranty, even on a new bed.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Base OK? What the rule says
Adjustable base Works, any base Not yet researched
Box spring or frame Works Not yet researched
Metal frame, queen and king Not yet researched 5- or 6-legged metal frame
Chapter 09

Review counts checked on each site · they change daily

Customer reviews and complaints

Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.

Brand-site reviews: the ReST reviews page carried an overall rating of 4.76 based on 618 verified customer reviews as of Jan 20, 2026 (in 2019 it showed 53 reviews), with recurring praise for back, hip and shoulder pain relief, deep sleep, split-king independence for couples and responsive customer service - one Split King owner wrote he had slept on a Sleep Number King for about 10 years and calls the ReST superior, and a Smyrna, TN buyer reported no more morning back or hip pain.

Third-party scores: Sleep Foundation 8.3/10 (motion isolation 8/10, pressure relief 8/10, durability 8/10, edge support 6.5/10, temperature control 6.5/10, ease of movement 5/10, off-gassing 6.5/10); Mattress Clarity 4.1/5 with support 4.5/5; Sleep Advisor 4.4/5; No Sleepless Nights-reviewed as a keeper in 2019 and later filed under Discontinued Products.

Complaint themes: air-pump noise on the Auto-Position and Automatic modes (silent only in Manual); app and connectivity problems, including a verified reviewer who reported the NightVision sleep-data feed worked intermittently and then stopped entirely and that the bed-adjustment app repeatedly lost contact with the pump, plus a call for a dedicated tablet on a $5,000 bed; setup complexity (at least 30 minutes, two tablets on queen and king, space and outlets needed for two pumps); a soft, low-bounce memory-foam feel that is hard for restless combination sleepers and poor for sex; heat retention from 4 inches of foam; and the price itself.

No BBB rating or Trustpilot content could be retrieved, and Sitejabber shows 0 reviews for restbed.com. the noise and app gripes are inherent to the sensing-fabric and air-chamber design rather than random defects, while the data outages and the unanswered question of who services a 2015-launched company's beds after 2023 are the real long-term risks.

How we read the reviews

Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.

Reported praise and concerns:

Review sites side by side

What each review site says

4.76 from 618 verified brand-site reviews

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform Rating Sample
Platform mark:ReST brand site 4.76 618
Chapter 10

What are the mattresses made of?

Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.

Construction is a 13-inch modular airbed with four functional layers. Cover: Sleep Skin performance fabric - moisture-wicking, breathable, zippered for removal and machine washable (Sleep Advisor describes it as polyethylene polyester with a polyurethane spandex blend).

Sensor layer: a proprietary three-ply antimicrobial warp-knit nylon-polyester blend with silver (Ag) molecularly bonded in a line pattern; it reads about 2,000 pressure points across the sleeping surface in real time (Sleep Foundation describes 1,000 data points on a grid per side) with no wires or plastics, and it feeds the pump and app.

Comfort: 4 inches of gel-infused memory foam (Mattress Clarity's teardown describes a 1 inch gel memory foam layer, a 2 inch gel memory foam layer and a 1 inch polyfoam layer); the GelGrid models substitute a 4 inch layer made of 2 inches foam blend plus 2 inches GelGrid. Transition: 1 inch transition foam.

Support: five individual medical-grade polyurethane air chambers per side (ten total) covering head, shoulders, lumbar, hips and legs, RF-welded to prevent leaks, fed by hoses from a pump under the bed; the 3-zone models cover shoulders, lumbar and hips. A foam base platform under the chambers protects them from the frame. Components are replaceable individually.

Certifications: foams are CertiPUR-US certified (per Sleep Advisor) and the brand's pages state medical-grade parts; no GREENGUARD Gold, OEKO-TEX or other third-party certification was found published. Country of origin: made in the USA is stated on the Sleep Advisor review; ReST's own site did not publish an origin statement we could verify.

What is inside each model

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelTop layerSupportCover
ReST Original Smart Bed4 inches gel-infused memory foamFive medical-grade polyurethane air chambers per sideSleep Skin performance fabric, removable and washable

The materials, in plain words

GelGrid

Grid comfort layer for airflow and cooler feel

Used in: Not yet researched
Sleep Skin

Moisture-wicking, breathable, removable washable cover

Used in: Not yet researched
Sensor layer

Silver-bonded antimicrobial fabric that feeds the pump and app

Used in: Not yet researched

Safety labels, and what each one covers

CertiPUR-US
Foams
Our research sheet lists this certification for ReST Bed. We have not yet checked it with the certifier.
What these labels do and don't prove

Read your law tag

How to read the law tag in three steps

Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide

How to read a mattress law tag

The three steps

1
Sleep Skin washable cover

2
Silver-bonded sensor layer

3
GelGrid comfort layer

Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.

How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11

Where can you try and buy the mattresses?

Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.

Buying was direct-to-consumer online at restbed.com (now restperformance.com), plus bricks-and-mortar dealers.

Sleep Foundation's review states the bed was available online through ReST and in select stores, with more than 150 retail locations across the United States, where shoppers could buy in person; Denver Mattress Company announced national distribution on March 27, 2017, starting in 17 stores across 8 states (Colorado, Kansas, Kentucky, Ohio, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin).

ReST also ran a Virtual Mattress Store for live video demos with a product expert from its Atlanta headquarters, a Book a Demo flow and a Store Locator, with sales and support by phone at 888-588-1349.

Today none of these channels sells the bed: the official sites are parked landers as of Sept 22, 2026, and dealer inventory is gone - The Mattress Factory's ReST category page still hosts the brand's description but the product grid reads Sorry, there are currently no products in this category. No current Amazon or Wayfair listings were found.

On the B2B side, the archived ReST OEM Smart Bed Kits page (March 2023) markets air-element smart beds to other manufacturers and references a Las Vegas showroom, booth C1552, and the brand supplied ReST Bed units to the hospitality and athletic markets during its active years.

Showroom Network
Online at restbed.com (no longer sold)
Not yet researched
Store Access
Select retail stores
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Virtual Mattress Store demos
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
White-glove delivery
Two-man crew sets up in about 20 minutes

How to test a bed in the store

Where ReST Bed sells

A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
# Channel Type
1 Online Online direct
2 Denver Mattress Company stores Retailer
3 Las Vegas Trade show showroom

Not yet researched. Checked Denver Mattress press release, The Mattress Factory category page.

Chapter 12

ReST Bed vs. other mattress brands

Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.

Against Sleep Number 360 (the brand's own comparison): ReST listed its bed at $5,099 against $5,199 for the Sleep Number 360 i10, and claimed five adjustable zones per sleeper versus one, no empty gap between sleepers, medical-grade polyurethane air chambers versus vulcanized rubber, automatic firmness adjustment as standard, compatibility with any adjustable base and a full non-prorated 10-year warranty versus Sleep Number's limited warranty - but Sleep Number is still trading, still serviced and still shipping beds, so it wins decisively on availability, support and resale today.

Against Eight Sleep Pod Pro Max (listed at $3,595 in the same archived table): Eight Sleep costs less, adds active heating and cooling and a sleep-tracking ecosystem, and is still sold; ReST counters with true five-zone air adjustability per side, no subscription and no water system, but loses on temperature control and availability.

Against Saatva Solaire, the closest still-sold rival airbed in Sleep Advisor's comparison: Solaire offers a single air chamber with adjustable firmness per side from an active brand with a 365-night trial and lifetime warranty, and it wins on price, trial length and serviceability, while ReST wins on zone count and pressure-map data.

Against Tempur-Pedic and other premium memory-foam beds: ReST delivered a similar conforming feel (4 inches of gel memory foam) with the ability to change firmness by zone nightly, but it adds pump noise, app dependence, under-bed hardware and setup time - traditional foam wins for simplicity and durability certainty.

Against Purple (whose GelFlex Grid technology ReST licensed for the Purple Grid / GelGrid models): Purple is cheaper, still sold and simpler; ReST was the more adjustable but more fragile proposition.

Bottom line: on paper ReST beat every airbed on zone control and warranty generosity, but the brand's collapse means shoppers should compare only against beds they can still buy and get serviced, where Sleep Number, Saatva Solaire, Eight Sleep and Tempur-Pedic all win by default today.

More brand reviews to compare: Reliable Bedding Company, Reno Mattress Co., Rest Assured Mattress, Rested Hauler, Rested Pillow, Restokraft.

Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13

How we research and report

This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for ReST Bed. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.

Researched September 22, 2026 by the Nappedia brand team, official sources first. restbed.com, www.restbed.com, restperformance.com and restsmartbed.com all showed the same GoDaddy parking page on Sept 22, 2026, so the brand has no live official site.

Because of that, official pages were read from older versions of the site, each labeled by date: the official homepage from Nov 2020 and Dec 25, 2023 and the Explore the ReST Bed w/ GelGrid page from Feb 15, 2026 (both showing the same four final models and the notice ReST is currently not accepting orders); product pages for the Original ReST Bed (June 2021), the Original w/ Gel Grid (Jan 2021), the ReST Essential (Nov 2020) and the ReST Single Pump / Easy (July 2022) with their price matrices; the warranty page and the FAQ page (July 2019); the reviews pages (July 2019 and Jan 20, 2026, the latter showing 4.76 from 618 verified reviews); the buy-now page (Aug 2020) and the Smart Bed Kit OEM page (March 2023).

Retailer and trade sources next: the Denver Mattress Company national-distribution press release of March 27, 2017, and The Mattress Factory's ReST category page (checked Sept 2026, now empty).

Third-party reviews last: Sleep Foundation's ReST Bed review page (updated page shown as 2026, body dated Dec 6, 2023), Mattress Clarity's review (updated July 21, 2026), Sleep Advisor's review (updated May 15, 2026) and No Sleepless Nights' ReST Smart Bed review (updated July 11, 2024, filed under Discontinued Products), plus Mattress Clarity's July 2021 BedJet partnership write-up.

Brand claims are labeled as brand claims throughout, every price and policy is tied to a dated source, and gaps are listed as not published: no closure announcement, no final-era price list, no published return-shipping or exchange terms beyond the reported $199, no third-party durability lab data, and we could not confirm BBB or Trustpilot ratings (Sitejabber shows 0 reviews for restbed.com).

How we check this page
Stage 01 Factory

Who built the bed

Stage 02 Test results

Outside test results

Stage 03 Safety

Fire safety papers and the law tag

Stage 04 Pressure and motion

Outside pressure and motion tests

Stage 05 Reviews

Review scores, side by side

Quick Answers

Quick Answers Before You Buy

Safety and materials
Buying and policies

Can I still buy a ReST Bed?

No. ReST has not accepted new orders since early 2023 - the Feb 15, 2026 archive of its own site still showed the notice ReST is currently not accepting orders - and both restbed.com and restperformance.com are parked domains as of Sept 22, 2026.

How much did a ReST Bed cost?

Published range $4,274 for a Twin XL to $8,548 for a Split King or Split California King (Sleep Foundation); earlier official lists ran $3,999-$7,998 for the Original, $3,299-$7,598 for the Original w/ Gel Grid, $2,499-$5,498 for the Essential and $3,499-$6,998 for the Easy / Single Pump, with the brand's final comparison table showing $5,099.

How many firmness zones does it have?

Three per side (ReST Essential, ReST Easy, ReST Single Pump, ReST Pump-in-Bed - shoulders, lumbar, hips) or five per side (ReST Original, ReST 5-Zone, ReST 5-Zone w/ GelGrid - head, shoulders, lumbar, hips, legs), all adjustable independently for each sleeper.

What base or frame do I need?

It works with any adjustable base, a box spring or a standard frame, but the warranty requires a 5- or 6-legged metal frame for queen and king and a 4-legged metal frame for Twin XL; you also need under-bed space and outlets for the pump and hoses.

What happens in a power cut?

The bed keeps its last firmness setting instead of deflating and can adjust again when power returns; ReST recommended a surge protector for the pump electronics.

What were the trial and warranty?

A 90-night in-home trial with a money-back guarantee on direct purchases plus a 10-year non-prorated warranty covering pumps, sensors, foams, edge rails, air chambers and the cover, with a reported $199 shipping charge on returns and no warranty service verifiable after 2023.

Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.

Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required