The Alaskan King Bed Company makes giant hand-built mattresses up to 13 ft wide, for families who share a bed with kids and pets. The Original is a firm 11-inch eco-foam and cotton mattress that starts near $2,950 on sale. It's best if you need an oversized custom size. But mattresses are final sale, with no returns or exchanges once delivered. You should be certain about the size and feel before you order. Call the brand if you're unsure.
The Original
The Original, product photo
FirmnessFirmNot yet researched
Mattress TypeFoam11 inches tall
Queen $$2,950 and up, size not stated$3,950-$6,600
Coil CountNo coils (all-foam)Foam core, no coil system
Key Strengths
Families who want a bed 8 ft to 13 ft wide for kids and pets
Back and stomach sleepers who want a firm, supportive feel
Heavier sleepers who want firm support
Buyers who want a USA hand-built bed made to order in North Carolina
Is Alaskan King Bed Company the best mattress for you?
Choose Alaskan King Bed Company if you want an oversized mattress (8 ft to 13 ft wide) that standard brands do not sell, like room for kids and pets, and prefer a firm supportive feel hand-built in North Carolina. Skip it if you want a sleep trial with free returns, a soft plush feel, a budget price, or fast mass-market delivery, since mattresses are final sale and made to order.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: BBB, Trustpilot, Google. Their scores: Not yet researched. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
The Alaskan King Bed Company makes giant hand-built mattresses up to 13 ft wide for families who share a bed with kids and pets. The Original is a firm 11-inch eco-foam and cotton mattress starting near $2,950 on sale. Best for shoppers who need oversized custom sizes, with no mattress returns so be certain before ordering.
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
When Alaskan King Bed Company makes sense
Families who want a bed 8 ft to 13 ft wide for kids and pets
Back and stomach sleepers who want a firm, supportive feel
Heavier sleepers who want firm support
Buyers who want a USA hand-built bed made to order in North Carolina
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Shoppers who want a sleep trial with free returns
Side sleepers who want a soft plush feel
Budget shoppers
Anyone who needs fast mass-market delivery
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Alaskan King Bed Company
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Back and stomach sleepers and heavier sleepers: pick The Original for its firm supportive feel.
Hot sleepers: pick The Royale (cashmere, cotton, latex airflow) or Grand Royale (open-cell latex plus HyperCool).
Couples, kids and pet piles: any model in 108x108 or Biggie widths gives undisturbed room; pair with the brand's oversized frames.
Side sleepers wanting deep pressure relief: Not published as of Sept 2026 for a dedicated soft/plush option; the Medium comfort is reported by some buyers as feeling extra-firm, so confirm by phone at +1 877 267 7772 before ordering.
Firmness finder
Which Alaskan King Bed Company feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Alaskan King Bed Company publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Alaskan King Bed Company lists 3 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
MODEL 1 - The Original (11in Firm): the entry giant mattress, described as "A firm and supportive mattress for sleepers of all shapes and sizes" with an organic-cotton quilted top and eco-friendly latex-like foam that sleeps cooler than memory foam; 8 sizes from Mini 96x96 to Biggie Max 156x108; sale $2,950-$5,600 (reg. $3,950-$6,600). Best for back and stomach sleepers wanting firm support.
MODEL 2 - The Royale (Most Popular): mid-tier luxury model with a baby-soft cashmere cover plus organic cotton and natural latex for pressure relief, temperature regulation and support; from $3,500 on sale (reg. $5,500). Best for shoppers wanting a plusher cooler upgrade over the Original.
MODEL 3 - The Grand Royale: flagship two-sided mattress with a premium natural latex core, cashmere cover and HyperCool technology, engineered for sleep ergonomics; from $10,000; in-home delivery with packing disposal included. Best for luxury buyers wanting flippable longevity.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
Coil Count
The Original
Organic-cotton quilted top and eco-friendly latex-like foam that sleeps cooler than memory foam. CertiPUR-US certified foams. Eight sizes from Mini 96x96 to Biggie Max 156x108. Sale prices run $2,950 (Mini 96x96, Shorty 108x80, Shorty L 108x84), $3,300 (Standard 108x108, Shorty XL 108x96), $3,700 (Biggie Jr 120x108), $4,600 (Biggie 144x108) and $5,600 (Biggie Max 156x108).
11 inches
Firm
$2,950 and up, size not stated
No coils (all-foam)
The Royale (Most Popular)
Baby-soft cashmere cover with organic cotton and natural latex for pressure relief, temperature regulation and support.
12"
Plusher than the Original
From $3,500
Not yet researched
The Grand Royale
Two-sided natural latex
15"
Not yet researched
From $10,000
Not yet researched
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 3
The Original: Firm and supportive for all sleepers
The Original
The Original, product photo
ConstructionNot yet researched
Profile11 inches
FirmnessFirm
Queen $$2,950 and up, size not stated
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Organic-cotton quilted top and eco-friendly latex-like foam that sleeps cooler than memory foam. CertiPUR-US certified foams. Eight sizes from Mini 96x96 to Biggie Max 156x108. Sale prices run $2,950 (Mini 96x96, Shorty 108x80, Shorty L 108x84), $3,300 (Standard 108x108, Shorty XL 108x96), $3,700 (Biggie Jr 120x108), $4,600 (Biggie 144x108) and $5,600 (Biggie Max 156x108).
Flagship two-sided mattress with a premium natural latex core, cashmere cover and HyperCool technology. In-home delivery with packing disposal is included.
Every Alaskan King Bed Company mattress, past and present
Why this matters to you:
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Sold
Status
The Original
Not found
Sold now
The Royale (Most Popular)
Not found
Sold now
The Grand Royale
Not found
Sold now
Chapter 04
Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
The Original: sale $2,950 (Mini 96x96, Shorty 108x80, Shorty L 108x84)
$3,300 (Standard 108x108, Shorty XL 108x96)
$3,700 (Biggie Jr 120x108)
$4,600 (Biggie 144x108)
$5,600 (Biggie Max 156x108); regular prices $3,950-$6,600. The Royale: from $3,500 on sale (reg. $5,500).
The Grand Royale: from $10,000. Value verdict: fair for a custom USA-made giant mattress with no mainstream rival at these widths, but poor flexibility value since mattresses are final sale with no trial; financing at 0% APR (subject to credit approval) is offered.
Alaskan King Bed Company prices by size
Mini
96x96$2,950
Shorty
108x80$2,950
Shorty L
108x84$2,950
Standard
108x108$3,300
Shorty XL
108x96$3,300
Biggie Jr
120x108$3,700
Biggie
144x108$4,600
Biggie Max
156x108$5,600
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Alaskan King Bed Company If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Expected to hold up like a typical quality foam/latex mattress over its 10-year warranty term: covered defects include visible indentations over 1.5 inches and foam splitting or cracking, with repair or replacement at the maker's choice. Long-term independent durability testing: Not published as of Sept 2026. Two-sided Grand Royale should wear longer by flipping.
Care: use the brand's oversized protector (from $325) and a properly sized rigid foundation; rotate per maker guidance.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYS10-year limited warranty
NOT PUBLISHEDNo long-term durability testing published
THE BRAND SAYSHand-built to order in North Carolina
NOT PUBLISHEDNo layer stack or thicknesses published
THE BRAND SAYSTwo-sided Grand Royale
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
Sleep trial: none stated; the brand does not publish a test-sleep period. Returns: "Mattresses and furniture are not eligible for returns or exchanges once delivered." Exchanges: same final-sale rule for mattresses and furniture. Unopened bedding: returnable within 30 days with original plus return shipping at buyer cost and a 10% restocking fee; sale bedding is final sale.
Shipping, taxes and discounts calculated at checkout.
Your trial, night by night
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNo returns on mattressesFinal sale on mattresses
Swap itNot yet researchedNot yet researched
Not covered by the trial: Mattresses and furniture
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Alaskan King Bed Company.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
Every order includes free curbside delivery; in-home delivery with packing disposal is included for the Grand Royale. Mattresses ship folded in half to fit regular doorways. Made-to-order lead times run about 1-3 weeks but reviewer reports of multi-week delays exist, so confirm timing before ordering.
Old-mattress removal: Not published as of Sept 2026. Assembly: frames have straightforward assembly per reviewers; mattresses need no assembly.
Typical wait: 1 to 3 weeks
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
Mattresses: 10-year limited warranty for the original buyer in the US (excluding territories) and Canada; non-transferable; 3 years for Trade customers. Covers indentations over 1.5 inches, foam splitting/cracking and zipper flaws; remedy is repair or replacement at the maker's choice. Sheets and protectors: 1-year limited warranty.
Furniture/frames: 2-year limited warranty. Disputes go to confidential binding arbitration in North Carolina. Full claim shipping/handling terms: Not published as of Sept 2026.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Over 1.5 inches, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
On-site reviews: 351 evaluations with 306 (87%) in the top bracket; praise for roominess for partners, kids and pets, balanced supportive comfort, sturdy build and helpful staff; grievances include deliveries far past the 1-3 week expectation ("9 weeks still no bed"), parcels misrouted, Medium feeling extra-firm, stubby platform supports, and oversized duvet covers needing two people.
Third-party ratings (BBB, Trustpilot, Google): Not published as of Sept 2026.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not yet researched
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Sample
Platform mark:On-site reviews
351
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
The Original: organic cotton quilted cover for pressure relief; eco-friendly latex-like comfort foam (cooler than memory foam, bounces back, free of harmful chemicals); CertiPUR-US certified foams; supportive base layers (full layer stack order and thicknesses: Not published as of Sept 2026). The Royale: cashmere cover with organic cotton and natural latex comfort layers.
The Grand Royale: natural latex core system with cashmere cover and HyperCool cooling technology. All models: hand-built to order in North Carolina; custom dimensions available by phone.
The materials, in plain words
Organic cotton
Quilted top for pressure relief
Used in: The Original
Cashmere
Baby-soft cover
Used in: The Royale
HyperCool
Cooling technology
Used in: The Grand Royale
Safety labels, and what each one covers
CertiPUR-US
Foams
Our research sheet lists this certification for Alaskan King Bed Company. We have not yet checked it with the certifier.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
Not yet researched
2
Not yet researched
3
Not yet researched
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
Buy direct at alaskankingbeds.com (mattresses, frames, bamboo and cotton bedding). Showroom visits by appointment via the site's scheduling link; street address: Not published as of Sept 2026. Phone: +1 877 267 7772.
Retail or wholesale partners, Amazon/Wayfair/Costco listings: Not published as of Sept 2026. Custom sizes by phone.
Showroom Network
Buy direct online
Not yet researched
Store Access
Showroom by appointment
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
No retail partners
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Alaskan King Bed Company sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
Type
1
Online
Online direct
Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.
Chapter 12
Alaskan King Bed Company vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Vs standard kings (76x80): no contest on space, since Alaskan King starts at 96x96 and runs to 156x108, but costs far more and is final sale. Vs Wyoming King / other giant-bed makers: sibling-brand positioning under "A Custom Mattress Factory"; head-to-head comfort or price testing: Not published as of Sept 2026. Vs mainstream luxury latex (e.g.
Savvy Rest, PlushBeds): comparable natural materials story with cashmere and latex, but fewer firmness choices published and no trial. Vs bed-in-a-box: opposite model, made-to-order USA build with white-glove options instead of compressed fast shipping.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Alaskan King Bed Company. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
We researched the official alaskankingbeds.com product pages, mattress collection, warranty, returns and reviews pages first, taking prices ($2,950-$5,600 sale for The Original; Royale from $3,500; Grand Royale from $10,000), sizes, materials and policy quotes from official text and page data. We also checked retailer and third-party review sources; where terms or reviews were not available we say so rather than guess.
Official claims and buyer-reported findings are kept separate above.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
How big is an Alaskan King?
Standard Alaskan King is 108x108 in; the range runs Mini 96x96 to Biggie Max 156x108 versus a standard king at 76x80.
How firm is The Original?
Sold as firm and supportive; some buyers report the Medium option feels extra-firm, so call +1 877 267 7772 first.
Is there a sleep trial?
No trial is published, and delivered mattresses and furniture cannot be returned or exchanged.
How long is delivery?
Built to order in North Carolina with free curbside delivery; allow the quoted 1-3 weeks plus buffer since delays are reported.
What warranty applies?
10-year non-transferable limited mattress warranty (3 years trade), covering 1.5-inch-plus impressions and foam defects.
Will it fit through doors?
Yes, mattresses ship folded in half to pass regular doorways.
Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.