Oregon Natural Fiber Mill (OnFM) is a women-owned, family-run wool mill in Portland, Oregon. It makes hand-tufted, springless mattresses from US-grown cotton and wool milled on site on turn-of-the-century garnetting machines. Ten springless models and two shikibutons run from about $358 to $1,982. There's no sleep trial, and all sales are final. It suits shoppers who want a chemical-free, futon-style bed. The catch is that firm fiber flattens over time, and you can't return it.
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch), product photo
FirmnessFuton-style, with some wool softnessNot yet researched
Mattress TypeSpringless cotton and woolNot yet researched
Is Oregon Natural Fiber Mill the best mattress for you?
Good fit if you want an Oregon wool-mill springless specialty mattress with no springs, no foam and no synthetics; hand-tufted US-grown cotton and wool in a cotton twill shell; futon-style firmness for floor, platform or bunk use; custom sizing; and wholesale or private-label ordering.
Poor fit if you want coils, memory foam or latex; a soft plush feel; a sleep trial or free returns; a published warranty; certified-organic seals; white-glove delivery; or verified third-party reviews.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Not yet researched. Their scores: Not published. Model they tested: Deluxe 4-inch Springless. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
Oregon Natural Fiber Mill (OnFM) is a women-owned, family-run Portland, Oregon wool-mill making hand-tufted springless mattresses from US-grown cotton and wool milled onsite on turn-of-the-century garnetting machines. Ten springless models plus two shikibutons span about $358 to $1,982, with no sleep trial and all sales final. Best for chemical-free futon-style shoppers; biggest caveat is firm fiber that flattens with no returns.
Women-owned, family-run
Ownership
Portland, Oregon
Made in
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
When Oregon Natural Fiber Mill makes sense
Chemical-free futon-style sleepers
No springs, foam or synthetics
Floor, platform or bunk use
Custom sizing
Wholesale or private-label orders
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Coil, memory foam or latex fans
Soft plush feel
Anyone who needs a sleep trial or free returns
Shoppers who want a published warranty
Certified-organic seal seekers
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Oregon Natural Fiber Mill
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Deluxe 4-inch Springless. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Back sleepers: 6-inch or 8-inch models give the most fiber depth under the lumbar; add a topper if pressure builds. Stomach sleepers: thinner 4-inch springless models sleep firmest and resist hammocking. Side sleepers: expect a firm futon feel; the 8-inch Deluxe or Organic Cotton and Wool 8-inch plus a wool topper is the closest pressure-relief setup.
Heavier builds: choose 8-inch models and a slatted platform with slats no more than 4 inches apart. Hot sleepers: cotton and wool breathe without foam, though cooling test data is Not published as of Sept 2026. Couples: no springs means minimal bounce transfer, but motion and edge-support test data are Not published as of Sept 2026.
Chemical-sensitivity shoppers: no foam, no synthetics and no chemical fillers per the mill; certification seals are Not published as of Sept 2026. Floor sleepers: keep the mattress at least 2 inches off the ground or flip it each morning to air out per the care page.
Firmness finder
Which Oregon Natural Fiber Mill feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Oregon Natural Fiber Mill publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Oregon Natural Fiber Mill lists 6 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
Deluxe 4-inch Springless (cotton and wool flagship): hand-tufted cotton and wool layers in cotton twill; Twin $474 / Twin XL $526 / Double $594 / Queen $634 / King and Cal King $714; balanced support with plush softness per product page. Deluxe 6-inch Springless: thicker cotton-wool build; $500 / $556 / $626 / $714 / $760 / $760. Deluxe 8-inch Springless: thickest Deluxe; $554 / $606 / $654 / $736 / $798 / $798.
Organic Cotton and Wool 8-inch Springless: top of line; $997 / $1,128 / $1,274 / $1,445 / $1,982 / $1,982. All Cotton Shikibuton 3-inch: foldable-style Japanese mat; $384 / $403 / $420 / $448 / $588 / $588 with 2 to 3 week turnaround. Organic Cotton Shikibuton 3-inch: $630 / $728 / $826 / $935 / $1,223 / $1,223.
All sizes Twin 39x75, Twin XL 39x80, Double/Full 54x75, Queen 60x80, King 76x80, Cal King 72x84; all variants were available as of Sept 2026 and all may run 1 to 2 inches short per the site.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
Hand-tufted cotton and wool layers in a cotton twill shell.
4, 6 or 8 inches
Futon-style, with some wool softness
$634 (4 inch)
All Cotton Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
An all-cotton build, with the 4-inch as the entry model.
4, 6 or 8 inches
Firm, futon-style
$456 (4 inch), size not stated
Organic Cotton Springless (6 and 8 inch)
US-grown organic cotton.
6 or 8 inches
Firm, futon-style
$1,016 (6 inch), size not stated
Organic Cotton and Wool Springless (6 and 8 inch)
Organic cotton plus wool. The 8-inch is the top of the line.
6 or 8 inches
Firm, futon-style
$1,209 (6 inch), size not stated
All Cotton Shikibuton
A foldable-style Japanese mat with a 2 to 3 week turnaround.
3 inches
Firm Japanese floor mat
$448
Organic Cotton Shikibuton
An organic cotton version of the shikibuton.
3 inches
Firm Japanese floor mat
$935
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 6
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch): Not yet researched
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch), product photo
ConstructionNot yet researched
Profile4, 6 or 8 inches
FirmnessFuton-style, with some wool softness
Queen $$634 (4 inch)
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Hand-tufted cotton and wool layers in a cotton twill shell.
Every Oregon Natural Fiber Mill mattress, past and present
Why this matters to you:
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Sold
Status
Deluxe Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
Not found
Sold now
All Cotton Springless (4, 6 and 8 inch)
Not found
Sold now
Organic Cotton Springless (6 and 8 inch)
Not found
Sold now
Organic Cotton and Wool Springless (6 and 8 inch)
Not found
Sold now
All Cotton Shikibuton
Not found
Sold now
Organic Cotton Shikibuton
Not found
Sold now
All Cotton Futon
Not found
Sold now
Cotton & Wool Futon
Not found
Sold now
All Wool Futon
Not found
Sold now
Standard Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Deluxe Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Luxury Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Luxury Foam Core w/Wool Futon
Not found
Sold now
Wellspring Supreme Futon
Not found
Sold now
Woolspring Supreme Futon
Not found
Sold now
Gold Star Ultimate Plus Futon
Not found
Sold now
Ultimate Deluxe Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic All Cotton Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic Cotton & Wool Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic Standard Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic Deluxe Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic Luxury Foam Core Futon
Not found
Sold now
Organic Luxury Foam Core w/Wool Futon
Not found
Sold now
Chapter 04
Prices checked Sept 2026 · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
Queen anchors verified from official variant data Sept 2026: All Cotton 4-inch $456; All Cotton 6-inch $496; All Cotton 8-inch $554; Deluxe 4-inch $634; Deluxe 6-inch $714; Deluxe 8-inch $736; Organic Cotton 6-inch $1,016; Organic Cotton and Wool 6-inch $1,209; Organic Cotton 8-inch $1,252; Organic Cotton and Wool 8-inch $1,445; All Cotton Shikibuton Queen $448; Organic Cotton Shikibuton Queen $935.
Twins start at $358 (All Cotton 4-inch) and Kings top out at $1,982 (Organic Cotton and Wool 8-inch). Value read: conventional cotton lines are the budget door; Deluxe adds wool softness for modest uplift; organic lines roughly double the price versus conventional. No sale, promo, financing or bundle pricing is published as of Sept 2026.
Prices are pre-tax and pre-shipping; re-verify at checkout.
Oregon Natural Fiber Mill prices by size
Twin
39 x 75Not yet researched
Twin XL
39 x 80Not yet researched
Double/Full
54 x 75Not yet researched
Queen
60 x 80Not yet researched
King
76 x 80Not yet researched
Cal King
72 x 84Not yet researched
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Oregon Natural Fiber Mill If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Natural fiber futons compress and get firmer with time per the official care page; a body signature in the first weeks is normal and the product pages warn to expect flattening over time. Break-in routine: flip and rotate every other night for the first couple of weeks, then weekly for about a month, then periodically; unbroken-in futons develop dips where fibers compress.
Support rules: platform frame with slats no more than 4 inches apart and at least 2 inches of airflow height to deter mold and mildew. Warranty length, sag-depth thresholds and defect coverage are Not published as of Sept 2026. Independent durability testing is Not published as of Sept 2026.
Do not store folded or a gully may form; not suitable for bifold frames due to softness.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYSNo springs, foam or synthetics
NOT PUBLISHEDNo warranty published
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNo independent durability testing
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNo third-party certifications
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
No sleep trial is offered. The shipping policies page states a Zero Return Policy with all sales final and no returns or exchanges, citing hygiene and quality standards. The refund policy page adds that products are non-returnable as hygiene-adjacent goods; authorized returns must be unused, undamaged and unlaundered and may be refused; refunds may carry shipping and restocking fees with return shipping at the customer cost absent authorization.
Defective or incorrect items are the sole exception and must be reported within 48 hours of delivery. Exchange mechanics, comfort swaps and refund timing specifics are Not published as of Sept 2026. Confirm the current policy in writing before ordering, since the two policy pages differ in tone.
Your trial, night by night
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itAll sales finalOnly defective or incorrect items reported within 48 hours
Swap itNot yet researchedNot yet researched
Not covered by the trial: Everything; all sales final
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Oregon Natural Fiber Mill.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
Mattresses ship rolled and compressed and expand fully within 72 hours per product pages, with a stated ships-within-5-business-days note; the shipping policies page separately states orders process in 1 to 3 business days with typical 5 to 7 business-day US transit. Ships within the continental USA only; Alaska and Hawaii orders may incur extra charges; international shipping is not available. Holiday surge fees may apply per the policies page.
Setup, white-glove delivery, old-mattress removal and threshold service are Not published as of Sept 2026. Damaged arrivals must be reported within 48 hours with photos; lost packages within 7 days of expected delivery. Indoor use only.
Typical wait: Within 7 days
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
Mattress warranty length, covered defects, sag-depth minimums, foundation requirements, law-tag or registration steps and commercial-use exclusions are Not published as of Sept 2026; no warranty page or warranty text appears in retrievable site content. The only remedies stated are the 48-hour defective-or-incorrect-item exception and carrier damage claims. Extended or third-party warranty options are Not published as of Sept 2026.
Shoppers should request warranty terms from hello@oregonfibermill.com before purchase and keep order confirmations and delivery photos.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Before you set it up
Which bed bases keep your warranty
Warranty rules
Put the mattress on one of the bases marked OK. The wrong base can void the warranty, even on a new bed.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Base
What the rule says
Slatted platform
Slats no more than 4 inches apart, at least 2 inches of airflow height
Bifold frames
Not suitable
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
On-site star ratings, review counts and written customer reviews: Not published as of Sept 2026; product pages show no review widgets. Third-party ratings on Google, BBB, Sleep Foundation, Sleepopolis, Mattress Clarity or review aggregators: Not published as of Sept 2026.
Complaint themes on firmness accuracy, flattening, delivery or service: Not published as of Sept 2026. the care and product pages themselves set the key expectation, namely that all-fiber futons compress, firm up and need regular flipping, so shoppers should treat flattening as inherent rather than a defect. Shoppers wanting verified owner feedback should contact the mill at hello@oregonfibermill.com before buying.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not published
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Sample
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
Layered US-grown cotton and wool batting garnetted and milled onsite at OnFM on restored turn-of-the-century machinery, hand-tufted into a soft cotton twill shell per product pages. No springs, no polyurethane foam, no memory foam and no synthetics in any mattress model; the FAQ page notes the mill also works with latex and foam for other goods but no mattress product lists them.
Organic lines are described as US-grown organic cotton free from chemicals and pesticides. Hypoallergenic and dust-mite resistant per the brand. Third-party certifications such as GOTS, OEKO-TEX or GREENGUARD are Not published as of Sept 2026, so organic and hypoallergenic claims rest on brand statements only.
Full per-layer weights, wool percentages and shell fabric specs are Not published as of Sept 2026.
The materials, in plain words
Springless cotton and wool batting
Layered US-grown cotton and wool, garnetted and milled onsite
Used in: Not yet researched
Organic cotton
US-grown, free from chemicals and pesticides (brand statement)
Used in: Not yet researched
Safety labels, and what each one covers
Certifications
Not yet researched
We have not yet verified Oregon Natural Fiber Mill's certification claims with the certifiers themselves.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
Cotton and wool batting, milled onsite
2
Hand-tufted cotton twill shell
3
Organic cotton lines
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
Buy direct at oregonfibermill.com across all twelve mattress and shikibuton listings, all variants available as of Sept 2026. Portland, Oregon mill facility with pickup and will-call option to save money and carbon per the shipping policies page; street address and showroom hours are Not published as of Sept 2026, so confirm via the contact page.
Wholesale bedding, private-label and contract manufacturing and a custom workroom for designers and architects are offered with low-to-no minimums; mattress custom sizing is available on inquiry. Third-party retailer, marketplace or dealer availability is Not published as of Sept 2026.
Showroom Network
Buy direct at oregonfibermill.com
Not yet researched
Store Access
Portland mill pickup and will-call
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Wholesale and private label
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Oregon Natural Fiber Mill sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
Type
1
Portland
Factory outlet
2
Online
Online store
Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.
Chapter 12
Oregon Natural Fiber Mill vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Versus Savvy Rest, White Lotus Home and other US cotton-wool futon makers: same springless hand-tufted concept, but OnFM mills its own batting onsite in Portland while rivals vary on sourcing; head-to-head price and spec comparisons are Not published as of Sept 2026. Versus Avocado, Naturepedic and Birch: those sell latex-and-coil organics with trials and long warranties, while OnFM is foam-free fiber-only with no trial and no published warranty.
Versus Casper, Purple and Saatva: mainstream brands offer foam or coil comfort with trials and white-glove options that OnFM does not. Versus generic shikibutons: OnFM offers US-milled cotton and organic options with custom sizing. OnFM wins on mill-direct fiber authenticity; it loses on trial, warranty, reviews and certification transparency.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Oregon Natural Fiber Mill. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
Brand claims such as hypoallergenic and organic are labeled as brand statements where no third-party seal was found. Warranty, reviews, certifications, fees and retailer availability are not published as of Sept 2026.
Key sources: https://www.oregonfibermill.com/products/deluxe-springless-mattress plus sibling product pages, https://www.oregonfibermill.com/collections/shop-all, https://www.oregonfibermill.com/pages/about, https://www.oregonfibermill.com/pages/faqs, https://www.oregonfibermill.com/pages/care-instructions, https://www.oregonfibermill.com/policies/refund-policy and https://oregonfibermill.com/pages/shipping-policies.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
What makes this an Oregon wool-mill springless specialty?
OnFM garnetts and mills US wool and cotton onsite in Portland on vintage machinery and hand-tufts it into springless, foam-free mattresses.
Which model is cheapest?
The All Cotton 4-inch Springless, starting at $358 Twin and $456 Queen verified Sept 2026.
Which is the flagship?
The Deluxe 4-inch Springless cotton-and-wool model (Queen $634), with 6-inch and 8-inch step-ups.
Is there really no trial or return?
Correct; the policies state all sales final with no sleep trial, and only defective or incorrect items reported within 48 hours are excepted.
How do I keep it from sagging?
Follow the break-in flipping schedule, rotate periodically, and use a slatted platform with gaps no wider than 4 inches.
Do they ship to my state?
Continental USA only as of Sept 2026, typically 5 to 7 business days in transit; Alaska and Hawaii may cost extra and international shipping is unavailable.
Prices and promos checked Sept 2026. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.