Steinbock SleepMattress Review

Models 6 models
Feels Plush
Trial 30 days
Warranty 20 years
Owner Reviews Not published
Ship Type Not yet researched

The 30-Second Verdict: Quick Summary

Steinbock SleepMattress Inc. is a family-owned Brooklyn, New York mattress maker. It was established in 1933 as Steinbock-Braff, and it builds innerspring and memory-foam beds in its own year-2000 plant. Six core models run from firm to double-pillowtop luxury at about $575 to $1,750 per set. They're sold only through authorized dealers, with a 20-year warranty on most models. You'll like it if you're in the Northeast and want to try a bed in person. You won't find online checkout or a brand-wide trial.

Celebrity Celebrity, product photo
Celebrity, product photo
Firmness Plush Not yet researched
Mattress Type Innerspring Not yet researched
Queen $ $1,200 (set) Not yet researched
Coil Count 364 coils 12.75-gauge, 8 edge supports
Key Strengths
  • Northeast US shoppers who want a regionally made bed
  • Buyers who want to try a bed at a dealer or the Brooklyn showroom
  • People who like published set pricing
  • Shoppers who prefer a long-tenured family maker
Good to Know
  • Online-only buyers
  • Shoppers who need a brand-wide sleep trial with free returns
  • Anyone who wants full published specs or foam certifications
  • Buyers who want white-glove delivery terms in writing
Chapter 01

Is Steinbock SleepMattress the best mattress for you?

Good fit for northeast US shoppers who want a regionally made innerspring or memory-foam bed they can try at an authorized dealer or the Brooklyn factory showroom, want published set pricing, and prefer a long-tenured family manufacturer. Poor fit for online-only buyers, shoppers who need a brand-wide sleep trial with free returns, or anyone wanting full published specs, foam certifications, or white-glove delivery terms in writing.

Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Not yet researched. Their scores: Not yet researched. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.

Steinbock SleepMattress Inc. is a family-owned Brooklyn, New York mattress maker established in 1933 as Steinbock-Braff, building innerspring and memory-foam beds in its own year-2000 plant. Six core models span firm to double-pillowtop luxury at about $595 to $1,750 per set, sold only through authorized dealers, with a 20-year warranty on most models.

1933
Established

Year-2000 Brooklyn plant
Own plant

Not yet researched
Not yet researched

When Steinbock SleepMattress makes sense
  • Northeast US shoppers who want a regionally made bed
  • Buyers who want to try a bed at a dealer or the Brooklyn showroom
  • People who like published set pricing
  • Shoppers who prefer a long-tenured family maker
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
  • Online-only buyers
  • Shoppers who need a brand-wide sleep trial with free returns
  • Anyone who wants full published specs or foam certifications
  • Buyers who want white-glove delivery terms in writing
Review site scores

How the big review sites score Steinbock SleepMattress

Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication Reported Score Configuration Tested Testing Scope Evaluation Focus

Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.

Reading the scores

Why we don't average the scores

Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02

Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you

Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.

Shoppers wanting maximum pressure relief: Celebrity, Marcella Euro double pillowtop, or Palazzo double pillowtop with 2-sided memory foam. Shoppers wanting a firmer innerspring feel: Imperial (firm foam supports) or Sensation Ultra-Pedic (firm foam supports, lowest entry price). Memory-foam feel without a full slab build: Visco Sleepfit with its quilted top.

Budget-first innerspring: Sensation twin set from $595. Heavier or king-size buyers: compare King set prices, from $1019 Marcella to $1750 Visco, and confirm edge support and foundation pairing with the dealer, since comfort ratings and sleeper-weight guidance are Not published as of Sept 2026.

Firmness finder

Which Steinbock SleepMattress feel fits you?

Weight chart not yet researched

Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Steinbock SleepMattress publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.

Four alignment checkpoints against a neutral posture line Neck Shoulders Lower back Hips level with spine sink in, no pinch no gap below no sag Straight spine line
  1. Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
  2. Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
  3. Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
  4. Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03

Compare the mattresses

Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.

Steinbock SleepMattress lists 6 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.

Celebrity: plush flagship innerspring with super-soft comfort-foam quilt, American damask tapestry cover, 364-coil 12.75-gauge unit, 8 edge supports, Fiber Flex, triple ultra body-support lift plus triple ultra-soft comfort foam, waterfall cover and super-module foundation; set prices $795 twin / $1149 full / $1200 queen / $1650 king, mattress-only $650 to $1299; 20-year warranty.

Imperial: firmer sibling of Celebrity on the same 364-coil base but with triple firm foam supports instead of ultra-soft foam; sets $750 / $995 / $1000 / $1349, mattress-only $599 to $1100; 20-year warranty.

Marcella: Euro double pillowtop pairing the 364-coil unit with triple ultra body-support lift and triple ultra-soft comfort foam; the line's lowest-price pillowtop at sets $650 / $750 / $825 / $1019, mattress-only $550 to $869; 20-year warranty.

Palazzo: double pillowtop with 2-sided memory foam, super comfort-foam quilt, double ultra body-support lift plus double ultra comfort foam, waterfall foundation cover and 8 comfort-foam foundation; sets $940 / $1199 / $1269 / $1739, mattress-only $859 to $1450; no warranty term published on its page.

Sensation (Ultra-Pedic): entry innerspring with American damask cover, 336-coil 12.75-gauge unit, double ultra body-support lifts plus triple firm foam supports; sets $595 / $795 / $895 / $1150, mattress-only $450 to $850; 20-year warranty.

Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam): quilted memory-foam model with 1.5 inches of quilting over 4.8-lb foam, marketed against Tempur-Pedic-style slab builds as easier to change positions on; sets $950 / $1100 / $1350 / $1750, mattress-only $799 to $1600; 30-day in-home trial and 20-year warranty., Classic Gem Euro double pillowtop with memory foam, and Economical Solutions bunk/utility bedding outside this six-model catalog scope.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual Model Build Firmness (brand words) Queen $ Coil Count
Celebrity, product photo Celebrity 364-coil 12.75-gauge innerspring, 8 edge supports, Fiber Flex, triple ultra-soft comfort foam and an American damask tapestry cover. Plush $1,200 (set) 364 coils
Imperial, product photo Imperial The Celebrity's 364-coil base with triple firm foam supports. Firmer $1,000 (set) 364 coils
Marcella, product photo Marcella 364-coil unit with triple ultra body-support lift and triple ultra-soft comfort foam, the lowest-price pillowtop. Euro double pillowtop $825 (set), size not stated 364 coils
Palazzo, product photo Palazzo 2-sided memory foam, super comfort-foam quilt, double ultra body-support lift and a waterfall foundation cover. Double pillowtop $1,269 (set), size not stated Not yet researched
Sensation (Ultra-Pedic), product photo Sensation (Ultra-Pedic) 336-coil 12.75-gauge unit with an American damask cover, double ultra body-support lifts and triple firm foam supports. Firmer entry innerspring $895 (set), size not stated 336 coils
Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam), product photo Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam) 1.5 inches of quilting over 4.8-lb memory foam. Memory foam, easier to move on $1,350 (set), size not stated No coils (all-foam)

Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelCoil gaugeCoil countFoam densityLatexILD
Model 1 of 6

Celebrity: Not yet researched

Celebrity, product photo
Celebrity
Celebrity, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Plush
Queen $ $1,200 (set)
Coil count 364 coils

364-coil 12.75-gauge innerspring, 8 edge supports, Fiber Flex, triple ultra-soft comfort foam and an American damask tapestry cover.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 2 of 6

Imperial: Not yet researched

Imperial, product photo
Imperial
Imperial, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Firmer
Queen $ $1,000 (set)
Coil count 364 coils

The Celebrity's 364-coil base with triple firm foam supports.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 3 of 6

Marcella: Not yet researched

Marcella, product photo
Marcella
Marcella, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Euro double pillowtop
Queen $ $825 (set), size not stated
Coil count 364 coils

364-coil unit with triple ultra body-support lift and triple ultra-soft comfort foam, the lowest-price pillowtop.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 4 of 6

Palazzo: Not yet researched

Palazzo, product photo
Palazzo
Palazzo, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Double pillowtop
Queen $ $1,269 (set), size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

2-sided memory foam, super comfort-foam quilt, double ultra body-support lift and a waterfall foundation cover.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 5 of 6

Sensation (Ultra-Pedic): Not yet researched

Sensation (Ultra-Pedic), product photo
Sensation (Ultra-Pedic)
Sensation (Ultra-Pedic), product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Firmer entry innerspring
Queen $ $895 (set), size not stated
Coil count 336 coils

336-coil 12.75-gauge unit with an American damask cover, double ultra body-support lifts and triple firm foam supports.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 6 of 6

Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam): Not yet researched

Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam), product photo
Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam)
Visco (Sleepfit Memory Foam), product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Memory foam, easier to move on
Queen $ $1,350 (set), size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

1.5 inches of quilting over 4.8-lb memory foam.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Chapter 04

Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying

Mattress prices and value

Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.

Official-site list prices (SET = mattress plus foundation / MATTRESS-ONLY), all four sizes Twin-Full-Queen-King: Sensation $595-$1150 set / $450-$850 only; Marcella $650-$1019 / $550-$869; Imperial $750-$1349 / $599-$1100; Celebrity $795-$1650 / $650-$1299; Palazzo $940-$1739 / $859-$1450; Visco $950-$1750 / $799-$1600.

Value take: mid-range regional-manufacturer pricing with both set and mattress-only options published, and pillowtop and memory-foam models priced below national luxury flagships; tradeoff is dealer-only purchase with no online checkout, no published financing, and no brand-wide trial beyond the Visco 30-day offer, so final street price and value depend on the authorized dealer quote.

Not yet researched

White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.

Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.

Are the expensive ones worth it?

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelBuy Steinbock SleepMattress IfSkip IfBuy Instead
Chapter 05

How well do the mattresses hold up?

Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.

The brand signals longevity with a stated 20-year warranty on Celebrity, Imperial, Marcella, Sensation, and Visco pages, plus a year-2000 plant with long-tenured assemblers and a full finished-goods inventory for immediate shipment.

Measured durability evidence is thin: no published sag thresholds, indentation limits, durability testing, or full foam densities appear on the site, and the Palazzo page states no warranty term, so expected lifespan versus national competitors is Not published as of Sept 2026; confirm warranty claim terms with the dealer before buying.

What to watch for, and when:

Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches

Company History & Model Evolution

Show the full company history
1933 Established

established in 1933 as Steinbock-Braff

Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.

What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say

The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYS20-year warranty on most models NOT PUBLISHEDNo durability testing published
THE BRAND SAYSFamily-owned since 1933 NOT PUBLISHEDNo certifications published
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched

Where sources disagree

Chapter 06

Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees

Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.

Only the Visco Sleepfit page publishes a trial: a 30-day in-home trial with an if-you-are-not-happy-we-will-take-it-back promise.

No brand-wide sleep-trial length, return window, exchange policy, restocking fees, return-shipping costs, or condition requirements are published for the other five models as of Sept 2026; any trial or comfort exchange comes from the selling dealer, so get the trial length, fees, and exchange rules in writing before purchase.

Your trial, night by night
  1. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
  2. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
  3. 30 daysLast day to start a return
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNot publishedNot yet researched
Swap itNot yet researchedNot yet researched

Not covered by the trial: Not yet researched

Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.

Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Steinbock SleepMattress.
Chapter 07

Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal

Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.

The Dealers page states the factory stocks a full inventory of finished goods for immediate shipment. Home-delivery timing, shipping costs, setup, white-glove service, and old-mattress removal terms are Not published as of Sept 2026 and are arranged through the selling authorized dealer or factory showroom; get delivery, setup, and haul-away terms in writing with the order.

Typical wait: Not published

Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08

Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy

What do the warranties cover?

Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.

Model pages for Celebrity, Imperial, Marcella, Sensation, and Visco each state a 20-year warranty; the Palazzo page states no warranty term.

What the warranty covers and excludes (sag depth, comfort-foam softening, edge-support failure, foundation pairing requirements, prorated vs non-prorated terms, claim process, and proof-of-purchase rules) is Not published as of Sept 2026, and no downloadable warranty card was found; register and confirm full terms with the dealer. All pages note fabric and print designs are subject to change without notice.

Measuring a mattress dip with a straight edge and a ruler Straight edge across the bed Dip depth Mattress, nobody lying on it

Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.

  1. Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
  2. Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
  3. Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Chapter 09

Review counts checked on each site · they change daily

Customer reviews and complaints

Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.

No customer reviews, ratings, counts, or testimonials appear on the official sleepmattress.com pages as of Sept 2026, and we found no third-party ratings or reviews for Steinbock SleepMattress beds as of Sept 2026. Common-complaint themes are therefore Not published as of Sept 2026; prospective buyers should ask the dealer for references and test floor models in person.

How we read the reviews

Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.

Reported praise and concerns:

Review sites side by side

What each review site says

Not yet researched

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform Rating Sample
Chapter 10

What are the mattresses made of?

Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.

Per official model pages: 12.75-gauge innerspring units (364-coil on Celebrity, Imperial, Marcella, Palazzo; 336-coil on Sensation), eight super-spring edge supports, Fiber Flex insulator, layered comfort and body-support foams (ultra-soft, firm, or memory foam depending on model), American damask or damask-tapestry quilted covers, waterfall covers, and super-module or comfort-foam foundations with high-rise corner guards.

Visco adds 1.5 inches of quilting over 4.8-lb memory foam. Foam densities (except Visco), layer thicknesses, cover fiber content, and certifications such as CertiPUR-US or organic standards are Not published as of Sept 2026.

Safety labels, and what each one covers

Certifications
Not yet researched
We have not yet verified Steinbock SleepMattress's certification claims with the certifiers themselves.
What these labels do and don't prove

Read your law tag

How to read the law tag in three steps

Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide

How to read a mattress law tag

The three steps

1
12.75-gauge innerspring units

2
Super-spring edge supports

3
Fiber Flex insulator

Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.

How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11

Where can you try and buy the mattresses?

Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.

Try-and-buy is dealer-only: the official Consumer Sales Policy states the brand does not sell online to the general public, directing shoppers to the nearest Authorized Dealer in the northeast region. Factory outlet showrooms: Brooklyn (4001 12th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11218, 718-972-6500, fax 718-435-4202) and 5 Towns (per About page); toll-free 800-638-8420, 9am-5pm EST, email steinsleep@aol.com, plus a contact form.

Commercial accounts (hotels, resorts, dorms, healthcare) are welcomed for special rates. Dealer addresses and hours are Not published as of Sept 2026; call or write for the nearest listing.

Showroom Network
Authorized dealers only
Not yet researched
Store Access
Brooklyn factory showroom
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched

How to test a bed in the store

Where Steinbock SleepMattress sells

A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
# Channel Address Type
1 Brooklyn 4001 12th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11218 Factory outlet
2 5 Towns Factory outlet
Hours change by location, so call ahead before you visit.

Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.

Chapter 12

Steinbock SleepMattress vs. other mattress brands

Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.

Vs Tempur-Pedic (invoked on the Visco page itself): Steinbock claims quilted real-mattress construction with easier repositioning at a lower price; loses on national trial clarity, spec depth, and review volume. Vs national innerspring makers (Sealy, Serta, Simmons): Steinbock wins on Brooklyn-made heritage since 1933 and published set pricing; loses on spec transparency, certifications, and centralized trial/returns.

Vs DTC bed-in-box brands: Steinbock offers in-person dealer trials and traditional foundations but no online checkout, boxed shipping, or brand-wide free-returns trial.

More brand reviews to compare: Springfield Mattress, Square Deal Mattress Factory, Stearns & Foster, Sterling Mattress Factory, Sterling Sleep Systems, Storkcraft.

Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13

How we research and report

This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Steinbock SleepMattress. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.

We reviewed the brand by reading all official sleepmattress.com pages fetched Sept 2026 (index, about-us, contact-us, dealers, and the six model pages celebrity, imperial, marcella, palazzo, sensation, visco, plus sleep-impressions, classic-gem, and economical-solutions for scope), transcribing construction bullets and the full Twin-to-King set and mattress-only price tables,; third-party checks via search-engine and review-site lookups surfaced no verifiable ratings, so unfindable items are labeled Not published as of Sept 2026 rather than inferred.

How we check this page
Stage 01 Factory

Who built the bed

Stage 02 Test results

Outside test results

Stage 03 Safety

Fire safety papers and the law tag

Stage 04 Pressure and motion

Outside pressure and motion tests

Stage 05 Reviews

Review scores, side by side

Quick Answers

Quick Answers Before You Buy

Safety and materials
Buying and policies

Where can I buy a Steinbock SleepMattress?

Through an authorized dealer in the northeast region or the Brooklyn/5 Towns factory showrooms; the brand does not sell online to the public.

Is there a sleep trial?

Only the Visco Sleepfit page publishes one (30-day in-home trial); other models carry no published trial, so confirm dealer terms in writing.

How long is the warranty?

20 years is stated for Celebrity, Imperial, Marcella, Sensation, and Visco; Palazzo states no term and full coverage details are unpublished.

How much do they cost?

Official set lists run about $595 (Sensation twin) to $1750 (Visco king), with mattress-only options on every model.

Are they memory foam or innerspring?

Mostly 336- or 364-coil innersprings with foam comfort layers; Palazzo and Visco add memory foam.

Who makes them?

Steinbock SleepMattress Inc., family-owned since 1933, built in its Brooklyn, NY plant.

Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.

Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required