Lucid is a Utah value brand (CVB Inc) that sells low-cost bed-in-a-box gel memory foam mattresses from about $120. It also sells toppers and adjustable bases. It's best for tight budgets, kids, bunks, dorms and guest rooms. Expect basic cooling, weak edges and a shorter foam life. You won't get premium durability or white-glove service.
Low Profile Memory Foam
Low Profile Memory Foam, product photo
FirmnessFirmest per inch, with the least contouringNot yet researched
Mattress TypeMemory foamNot yet researched
Queen $From $119.99Not yet researched
Coil CountNo coils (all-foam)Foam core, no coil system
Key Strengths
Budget shoppers
Guest rooms, dorms and bunk beds
Kids
Light side sleepers who want cheap contouring foam
Best for budget shoppers, guest rooms, kids, dorms, bunk beds and light side sleepers who want cheap contouring foam with free fast shipping. Not best for sleepers over about 230 lb, strict stomach sleepers, hot sleepers wanting active cooling, or buyers needing showrooms, white-glove setup or long-life premium support.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Sleep Foundation, Mattress Clarity. Their scores: Not yet researched. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
Lucid is a Utah value brand (CVB Inc) selling low-cost bed-in-a-box gel memory foam mattresses from about $120, plus toppers and adjustable bases. Best for tight budgets, kids, bunks, dorms and guest rooms. Expect basic cooling, weak edges and a shorter foam life, not premium durability or white-glove service.
CVB Inc, Utah
Parent company
250,000+ 5-star
Brand-claimed reviews
From $119.99
Starting price
When Lucid makes sense
Budget shoppers
Guest rooms, dorms and bunk beds
Kids
Light side sleepers who want cheap contouring foam
Shoppers who want free fast shipping
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Sleepers over about 230 lb
Strict stomach sleepers
Hot sleepers who want active cooling
Buyers who need showrooms or white-glove setup
Buyers who want long-life premium support
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Lucid
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Light side sleepers and petite frames: Original 10 in Medium or Premium 12 in for deeper pressure relief. Back sleepers on a budget: Premium 12 in Medium-Firm for more support. Kids, bunks, dorms, RVs, top bunks: Low Profile 5-8 in for low height and firmness.
Hot sleepers: none actively cooled; ventilated gel foam only, so look elsewhere for real cooling. Over 230 lb or edge-sitters: not ideal; weak edge support and faster dip reported.
Firmness finder
Which Lucid feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Lucid publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Lucid lists 5 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
Low Profile Memory Foam (5/6/8 in): thin versatile pick for bunks, dorms, RVs and trundles; site rates Support 2/5, Cooling 3/5, Pressure Relief 2/5; least contouring, firmest feel per inch. / The Original Memory Foam (10 in, best seller): gel memory foam over transition and bamboo-charcoal base foam, ventilated airflow design; balanced 3/5 support-cooling-relief per site; most-reviewed Amazon value bed. / Premium Memory Foam (12/14 in, most supportive): thicker comfort stack over dense charcoal base; site rates Support 5/5, Pressure Relief 4/5; better for side sleepers wanting deeper sink. / Folding Mattress Sofa / tri-fold: portable floor lounger/guest bed; SAFETY NOTE: a Lucid folding mattress/sofa was subject to CPSC Recall No.
19-065 (Jan 2019) for violation of the federal mattress flammability standard, with refund/replacement remedy; live-site folding listings reviewed did not republish recall details as of Sept 2026, so check CPSC before buying any folding model. / Legacy 2018 lines (latex 10 in, charcoal-aloe hybrid 10 in): seen in 2018; the current collection shows foam-only, so treat hybrid/latex as legacy or retailer-only unless a live buyable page is found.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
Coil Count
Low Profile Memory Foam
A thin, versatile pick for bunks, dorms, RVs and trundles. The site rates Support 2 out of 5, Cooling 3 out of 5 and Pressure Relief 2 out of 5.
5/6/8 in
Firmest per inch, with the least contouring
From $119.99
No coils (all-foam)
The Original Memory Foam (best seller)
Gel memory foam over transition and bamboo-charcoal base foam, with a ventilated airflow design. It's the most-reviewed Amazon value bed.
10 in
Balanced, 3 out of 5 for support, cooling and relief
From $219.99
Not yet researched
Premium Memory Foam (most supportive)
A thicker comfort stack over a dense charcoal base. The site rates Support 5 out of 5 and Pressure Relief 4 out of 5. It suits side sleepers who want a deeper sink.
12/14 in
Medium-firm, deeper sink
From $289.99
No coils (all-foam)
Folding Mattress Sofa and tri-fold
A portable floor lounger and guest bed. A Lucid folding mattress and sofa was part of CPSC Recall No. 19-065 (January 2019) for a violation of the federal mattress flammability standard. The remedy was a refund or replacement. The live folding listings we reviewed don't repeat the recall details (checked September 2026). Check CPSC before you buy any folding model.
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
L
Legacy 2018 lines (latex 10 in, charcoal-aloe hybrid 10 in)
Seen in a 2018 archived copy of the site. The current collection shows foam only. Treat the hybrid and latex as legacy or retailer-only unless you find a live buyable page.
10 in
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 5
Low Profile Memory Foam: Not yet researched
Low Profile Memory Foam
Low Profile Memory Foam, product photo
ConstructionNot yet researched
Profile5/6/8 in
FirmnessFirmest per inch, with the least contouring
Queen $From $119.99
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
A thin, versatile pick for bunks, dorms, RVs and trundles. The site rates Support 2 out of 5, Cooling 3 out of 5 and Pressure Relief 2 out of 5.
A thicker comfort stack over a dense charcoal base. The site rates Support 5 out of 5 and Pressure Relief 4 out of 5. It suits side sleepers who want a deeper sink.
Folding Mattress Sofa and tri-fold: Not yet researched
Folding Mattress Sofa and tri-fold
Folding Mattress Sofa and tri-fold, product photo
ConstructionNot yet researched
ProfileNot yet researched
FirmnessNot yet researched
Queen $Not yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
A portable floor lounger and guest bed. A Lucid folding mattress and sofa was part of CPSC Recall No. 19-065 (January 2019) for a violation of the federal mattress flammability standard. The remedy was a refund or replacement. The live folding listings we reviewed don't repeat the recall details (checked September 2026). Check CPSC before you buy any folding model.
Seen in a 2018 archived copy of the site. The current collection shows foam only. Treat the hybrid and latex as legacy or retailer-only unless you find a live buyable page.
Legacy 2018 lines (latex 10 in, charcoal-aloe hybrid 10 in)
Not found
No longer sold
High Profile Memory Foam Mattress
Not found
No longer sold
Gel Memory Foam Mattress
Not found
No longer sold
Natural Latex and Memory Foam Mattress
Not found
No longer sold
Chapter 04
Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
Value-first pricing. Live site From prices: Low Profile From $119.99; Original Memory From $219.99; Premium Memory From $289.99; toppers From $39.99; adjustable bases From $449.99. Reviewer-spotted street prices: 12 in gel queen about $279-$450; 10 in gel queen about $450; 12 in hybrid queen about $430; kings to about $580.
Frequent Amazon discounting makes Queen under $300-$450 common. Value rating 5/5 on brand site; independent scores lower (about 3.5/5) because materials and life are basic. Sizes Twin through Cal King; height drives price, not firmness options.
Not yet researched
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Lucid If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Basic durability. Independent lab estimate: about 5-6 year foam life (Durability 5/10); hybrid 7-10 years per one reviewer. Motion isolation strong (8/10), pressure relief about 7.5/10, edge support weak (5.5/10), temperature control low (4-4.5/10), ease of movement low (4-4.5/10).
Expect body impressions and softening within a few years on nightly adult use; dips under the warranty threshold are not covered. Best life in spare, kid or light-use roles; rotate and use a protector.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
Jan 2019Recall
CPSC Recall No. 19-065 (Jan 2019) for violation of the federal mattress flammability standard
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYSAbout 5-6 year foam life
NOT PUBLISHEDFull warranty text not published
THE BRAND SAYS10-year limited warranty
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
THE BRAND SAYSWeak edge support (5.5/10)
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
Direct site: 100-Night Sleep Trial on mattresses and adjustable bases with a 30-day break-in request and all requests within 100 days of delivery; other goods 30 days from delivery. Independent reviewers cite a 30-night/30-day Amazon-window on some listings, so the seller page governs on marketplace orders. Marketplace orders must be returned through that platform.
Return shipping/processing or restocking fees on Amazon-seller returns: Not published as of Sept 2026, confirm listing terms. Exchanges: Not published as of Sept 2026.
Your trial, night by night
Day 1Trial starts at delivery
Day 30Break-in period requested
100 nightsLast day to start a return
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNot publishedNot yet researched
Swap itNot yet researchedNot published
Not covered by the trial: Not yet researched
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Lucid.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
Direct-site shipping advertised as Free Shipping Sitewide, arriving in 2-6 business days, compressed bed-in-a-box, free delivery in the contiguous US with 1-2 week reviewer-observed times. No White Glove setup or old-mattress haul-away published as of Sept 2026. Unbox promptly, allow expansion and airing for odor.
Remote-state, Alaska/Hawaii and marketplace shipping terms vary by seller; confirm at checkout.
Typical wait: 2 to 6 business days
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
10-year limited warranty on direct-site mattresses covering defects in materials and workmanship, with repair, replacement or refund as remedy per reviewers. Excludes everyday wear, dips under 1.5 in, stains, mishandling, transit damage and commercial use per independent summary. Marketplace warranty handling follows the seller of record.
Optional 10-year Guardsman accidental plan covers sudden household stains, tears, punctures and burns, per the brand's site. Sagging threshold and claim steps on live site: partly stated; full warranty text Not published as of Sept 2026, request PDF before purchase.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
Brand claims 250,000+ 5-star reviews; Amazon averages about 4.4/5 with 70%+ 5-star on flagship gel and hybrid listings. Praise: price, motion isolation, pressure relief, fast bed-in-box delivery. Complaints: sleeps warm, weak edge support, initial off-gassing odor (testers say fades in about 2 days), firmness lottery between Plush/Medium/Firm, premature sagging and softening, thin covers, and marketplace return/Damaged-box hassles.
Durability and cooling are the most repeated knocks in independent tests.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not yet researched
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Platform mark:Amazon
4.4/5
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
All-foam gel memory foam over polyfoam transition and bamboo-charcoal support base; moisture-wicking stretch/Tencel-type cover on reviewed 12 in. Example 12 in Medium: 1 in responsive polyfoam + 2 in gel memory foam + 1 in barrier over 8 in charcoal base; Plush: 1.5 in + 2 in gel + 2 in transition over 6.5 in base. Legacy hybrid added pocketed coils with charcoal and aloe-based foams.
Charcoal is marketed for freshness/odor, gel and ventilation for heat. CertiPUR-US: claimed on many Amazon Lucid listings historically, but CertiPUR-US is not stated on the brand site as of Sept 2026, so verify the product label before purchase.
Safety labels, and what each one covers
CertiPUR-US
Claimed on Amazon listings, not found on live site
Our research sheet lists this certification for Lucid. We have not yet checked it with the certifier.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
Gel memory foam
2
Bamboo-charcoal base foam
3
Not yet researched
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
Buy direct at lucidmattress.com and via the official Lucid storefront on Amazon, the brand's primary volume channel. Select Lucid beds also appear at Walmart, Wayfair and Target via marketplace sellers, availability varies. No brand showrooms or try-before-you-buy stores found as of Sept 2026; floor trials depend on third-party retailers.
Parent is CVB Inc of Nibley, Utah, also behind Linenspa; beds are imported builds sold by a US company.
Showroom Network
Online direct
Not yet researched
Store Access
Amazon storefront
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Walmart, Wayfair, Target
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Free shipping, 2-6 business days
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Lucid sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
Type
1
Online
Online direct
Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.
Chapter 12
Lucid vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Vs Zinus/Linenspa/Sweetnight: same Amazon value tier; Lucid leans gel-plus-charcoal foam story with a 100-night direct trial vs shorter marketplace windows. Vs Casper/Nectar/Purple: far cheaper but sleeps warmer, weaker edges, shorter life, no showrooms or white glove. Vs Lucid hybrid legacy: coils slept cooler and moved easier than all-foam.
Pick Lucid when price and fast free shipping beat longevity; pick mid-tier hybrids when you need cooling, edges and 8-10 year life.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Lucid. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
Official sources first: lucidmattress.com homepage, mattresses collection and shipping-returns page (Sept 2026), plus a 2018 version of lucidmattress.com for history. Then Amazon storefront signals via review-site price and rating citations. Then independent lab reviews (Sleep Foundation 12 in test, Mattress Clarity 10 in gel and 12 in hybrid tests) for performance, materials and durability, attributed separately from brand claims.
Gaps are labeled Not published as of Sept 2026.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
Is Lucid a good cheap mattress?
Yes for guest, kid, dorm and light-use roles; expect basic cooling and a 5-6 year foam life, not premium support. /
What happened with the folding mattress recall?
CPSC Recall 19-065 (Jan 2019) covered a Lucid folding mattress/sofa for flammability-standard violation with refund/replacement; check CPSC before buying folding models. /
What are the trial and warranty?
The direct site advertises 100 nights and a 10-year limited warranty. Amazon listings may show 30 days, so follow the seller page.
Does it sleep hot?
Testers rate temperature 4-4.5/10; gel and vents help slightly but it retains heat. /
Who owns Lucid and where is it made?
CVB Inc of Utah, a US seller of imported beds, also behind Linenspa. /
Is there CertiPUR foam?
Commonly claimed on Amazon listings but not stated on the brand site, so verify the label.
Trial and warranty?
Direct site advertises 100 nights and 10-year limited warranty; Amazon listings may show 30 days, so follow the seller page. /
Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.