Pelican Mattress Factory of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, operates with Capital Bedding Company and claims roots to 1920. It sold hand-sewn, flippable latex-over-pocketed-coil luxury mattresses, plus dorm and institutional beds, exclusively online. The brand's site was unavailable when we checked in September 2026. Only an archived copy of the brand's site from 2023 survives. The flagship Irelyn was listed at $425 on sale, with a 100-night trial and a 10-year guarantee. Treat the brand as presumed closed, and verify before you send money.
Is Pelican Mattress Factory the best mattress for you?
Good fit: shoppers wanting a USA bench-built two-sided luxury mattress (soft latex side plus firm non-latex side over mini pocketed coils); adjustable-base owners (brand claimed suitability for all adjustable bases); universities, camps, agencies and crew-quarter buyers needing contract beds; bargain dorm-bed buyers (sub-$200 archived prices).
Poor fit: shoppers needing a live buyable site, published sizes, firmness ratings or certifications; strict-organic shoppers (no GOTS, GOLS, OEKO-TEX or CertiPUR-US claims found); anyone needing white-glove delivery, old-mattress removal or verified third-party reviews; shoppers unwilling to buy from a likely-defunct seller.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Not yet researched. Their scores: Not published. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
Pelican Mattress Factory of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, operating with Capital Bedding Company since 1920, sold bench-built hand-sewn flippable latex-over-pocketed-coil luxury mattresses plus dorm and institutional beds, exclusively online. The brand's website is gone as of Sept 2026; only older versions survive. Flagship Irelyn listed at $425 sale with a 100-night trial and 10-year guarantee. Status as of Sept 2026: presumed closed; verify before sending money.
Since 1920
In business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Location
Over 200 pieces per day
Output
When Pelican Mattress Factory makes sense
USA bench-built two-sided luxury mattress fans
Adjustable-base owners (brand claim)
Universities, camps and agencies needing contract beds
Bargain dorm-bed buyers
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Shoppers who need a live buyable site
Anyone who needs published sizes, firmness ratings or certifications
Strict-organic shoppers
White-glove delivery or old-mattress removal
Buyers unwilling to buy from a likely-defunct seller
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Pelican Mattress Factory
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Side sleepers: the Irelyn soft latex face is the closest archived fit for pressure relief, with pocketed mini-coils for contouring; weight-specific guidance not published as of Sept 2026. Back sleepers: the Irelyn firm non-latex face is the brand-suggested alternative for support seekers, flippable without buying a second bed.
Stomach sleepers: the firm side is the logical pick, but thickness is only 10 in and firmness ratings are not published, so heavier stomach sleepers should verify support before relying on it. Hot sleepers: the Dorm Safe Cool Gel name suggests a cooling option and the Irelyn latex face sleeps cooler than memory foam by material nature, but no cooling test data, cover details or breathability claims are published.
Heavier sleepers: the 45 lb density core claim on the Dogwood Elite and edge-to-edge coils on the Irelyn are the only support hints; no weight limits or per-size coil counts published as of Sept 2026. Couples and motion isolation: not published as of Sept 2026.
Firmness finder
Which Pelican Mattress Factory feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Pelican Mattress Factory publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Pelican Mattress Factory lists 4 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
Irelyn Latex Mattress, Soft-over-Firm flippable (Hand-Sewn Pocketed Coil Luxury model): two-sided 10 in luxury build with a 2 in eco all-natural latex soft face over edge-to-edge mini pocketed coils, flipping to a firmer non-latex face over the same coils; hand-made bench-built quality piece by piece; priced at $475.00 regular and $425.00 sale with free shipping, 100-night trial and 10-year guarantee when the site was last live; size dimensions are not published.
Dogwood Elite (SKU 99HD12WX08): one-sided 7 in all-foam bed with stretch-knit quilted top and a 45 lb density lower core, no coils; lightweight positioning; priced at $249.00 regular and $199.20 sale (20 percent off) when the site was last live; per-size dimensions are not published.
Dorm Safe Cool Gel Mattress (Camp and College line): all-foam or innerspring variations with cool gel and kevlar threading per archived shop text; archived at $180.00 regular and $144.00 sale; layer details, sizes and firmness not published as of Sept 2026.
University Housing Collection (contract line): made-to-order institutional mattress with tailorable specifications and better-quality materials claimed for longevity; archived at $98.00 price; specs, sizes and firmness not published as of Sept 2026.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
I
Irelyn Latex Mattress (Soft-over-Firm flippable)
Latex over pocketed coil
10 inches
Soft latex side, firmer non-latex side
$475.00 regular, $425.00 sale
D
Dogwood Elite (model code 99HD12WX08)
One-sided all-foam with a stretch-knit quilted top and a 45 lb density lower core, with no coils.
7 inches
Not yet researched
$199.20, size not stated
D
Dorm Safe Cool Gel Mattress
All-foam or innerspring variations with cool gel and kevlar threading.
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
$144.00, size not stated
U
University Housing Collection
A made-to-order institutional mattress with tailorable specs.
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
$98.00, size not stated
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 4
Irelyn Latex Mattress (Soft-over-Firm flippable): Not yet researched
A 2-inch eco all-natural latex soft face over 3 inches of edge-to-edge mini pocketed coils and 2 inches of firm poly. The firm face is non-latex over the same coils.
Every Pelican Mattress Factory mattress, past and present
Why this matters to you:
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Sold
Status
What it was
Irelyn Latex Mattress
Not found
Sold now
Two-sided luxury latex over pocketed coil
Dogwood Elite
Not found
Sold now
One-sided 7 in all-foam bed
Irelyn Latex Mattress (Soft-over-Firm flippable)
Not found
Sold now
Dogwood Elite (model code 99HD12WX08)
Not found
Sold now
Dorm Safe Cool Gel Mattress
Not found
Sold now
University Housing Collection
Not found
Sold now
Hand-Sewn Pocketed Coil Luxury
Not found
No longer sold
Chapter 04
Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
Archived brand-direct prices: Irelyn $475.00 regular and $425.00 sale; Dogwood Elite $249.00 regular and $199.20 sale (20 percent off); Dorm Safe Cool Gel $180.00 regular and $144.00 sale; University Housing Collection $98.00. Per-size pricing, current prices, financing, coupons and bundles: not published as of Sept 2026, and the live checkout is dead.
Value read: archived prices undercut most online luxury hybrids by hundreds of dollars while promising hand-sewn bench-built construction, a 10-year guarantee and a 100-night trial, which was a strong paper value; however value cannot be acted on because the site is dead, sizes and specs are thin, no certifications back the materials, and no reviews verify quality, so treat all pricing as historical only.
Not yet researched
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Pelican Mattress Factory If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Brand-reported durability: the Irelyn page states a 10-year guarantee, and the University line claims reliance on longevity of service with better quality materials; no sag thresholds, exclusion lists or claim procedures are published. Build hints: hand-sewn bench-built assembly, edge-to-edge mini-coils, kevlar threading on dorm models and a 45 lb density support core on the Dogwood Elite.
Independent durability evidence (rollator tests, owner longevity reports, third-party reviews): not published as of Sept 2026. Company track record: Pelican Mattress Factory and Capital Bedding Company state shared ownership since 1920 with output over 200 pieces per day and healthcare, hotel, university, government, FEMA, VA, Army Corps of Engineers and oil and gas contract work, which is brand-reported rather than independently verified.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
1920Shared ownership begins
operating with Capital Bedding Company since 1920
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYSHand-sewn, bench-built
NOT PUBLISHEDNo durability testing published
THE BRAND SAYSTwo-sided flippable Irelyn
NOT PUBLISHEDNo certifications published
THE BRAND SAYS10-year guarantee
NOT PUBLISHEDNo foam density published
THE BRAND SAYS45 lb density core on Dogwood Elite
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
Sleep trial: archived 100 Night Trial and unconditional 100-night guarantee language (Treat yourself for 100 nights free on us). Returns: call for arrangements on the 101st night via the brand 1-800 number and the brand states it will gladly arrange a return and refund; because mattresses cannot be repackaged at home, returns were executed as a charitable donation of the buyer choosing with buyer help arranging the nonprofit handoff.
Exchanges: no separate exchange program stated; the flippable two-sided design was pitched as the alternative to exchanging. Fees, restocking charges, return-shipping costs and trial exclusions: not published as of Sept 2026. All trial terms are historical from a dead site and unenforceable as of Sept 2026 unless a live successor honors them.
Your trial, night by night
Night 1Not yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
100 nightsLast day to start a return
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNot publishedReturn executed as a charitable donation of the buyer's choosing
Swap itNot yet researchedNo exchange program
Not covered by the trial: Not yet researched
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Pelican Mattress Factory.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
Delivery (archived claims): free shipping on the Irelyn, delivered compressed and rolled in a 16 in x 16 in x 60 in box with an opener included for expansion; delivery speed, tracking, geographic limits and freight terms not published as of Sept 2026. Setup: implied customer self-setup by unrolling and expanding; formal setup instructions, expansion times and base or foundation requirements not published as of Sept 2026.
Old-mattress removal, white-glove setup, scheduled delivery and haul-away: not published as of Sept 2026. Contract and institutional shipping (pallets, freight, installation): referenced only via a call-to-discuss phone invitation, with terms not published as of Sept 2026.
Typical wait: Not published
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
Warranty (archived): the Irelyn page states a 10-year guarantee. Covered defects, sag or indentation thresholds, fabric and coil coverage, exclusions (foundation, stains, comfort preference, misuse), claim procedures, proof-of-purchase rules, transferability, and repair-versus-replace remedies: not published as of Sept 2026; no warranty document or FAQ body text was retrievable beyond the 10-year headline.
Given the dead storefront and presumed closure, warranty enforceability as of Sept 2026 is doubtful; shoppers should assume no live warranty backing unless a verified successor states otherwise in writing.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Before you set it up
Which bed bases keep your warranty
Warranty rules
Put the mattress on one of the bases marked OK. The wrong base can void the warranty, even on a new bed.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Base
OK?
Adjustable base
Suitable per brand
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
Brand-site reviews: no on-site review system, ratings or testimonials were published as of Sept 2026. Third-party ratings (Google, Yelp, BBB, Facebook, retailer or review-press coverage): not published as of Sept 2026; no indexed rating aggregates were retrievable. Complaint themes from retrievable sources: none documented as of Sept 2026.
Pelican was a small regional factory-direct seller whose Wix storefront is now dead, so feedback trails are thin to nonexistent; the absence of reviews is a data gap, not evidence of quality, and shoppers should not infer satisfaction or complaint rates.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not published
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Sample
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
Irelyn (per archived product pages): 2 in supple eco all-natural latex on the soft face, 3 in pocketed mini-coils, 2 in firm poly, 10 in overall; firm face is non-latex over the same gentle pocketed mini-coils; hand-sewn bench-built construction; cover, fire barrier, quilt, adhesive and foam-density specifics not published as of Sept 2026.
Dogwood Elite: stretch-knit quilted top over a 45 lb density foam core, 7 in one-sided all-foam; latex and coils not part of this model. Dorm Safe Cool Gel: cool gel plus kevlar threading in all-foam or innerspring variations; full layer stack not published as of Sept 2026. University Housing Collection: better quality materials claimed without itemization.
Certifications (CertiPUR-US, OEKO-TEX, GOTS, GOLS, Greenguard): not published as of Sept 2026.
Safety labels, and what each one covers
Certifications
Not yet researched
We have not yet verified Pelican Mattress Factory's certification claims with the certifiers themselves.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
Eco all-natural latex
2
Pocketed mini-coils
3
Kevlar threading
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
No live try-or-buy channel exists: the official site at www.pelican-mattress.com is gone as of Sept 2026, with no working cart or checkout. Historically the brand sold exclusively online (EXCLUSIVELY ON-LINE per archived product text) plus phone-made contract orders at 225-355-1832. Former factory and business address per archived site metadata: 5499 Adams Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70806, USA.
No brand-owned showrooms, dealer network, trial rooms or marketplace storefronts were found; Amazon, Wayfair, Walmart, Costco and similar listings are not published as of Sept 2026. Do not send payment to the dead site or unverified successors without fresh verification.
Showroom Network
Online only (historically)
Not yet researched
Store Access
Contract orders by phone
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
No showrooms or dealers
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Pelican Mattress Factory sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
Address
Type
1
Baton Rouge
5499 Adams Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Factory (former)
Hours change by location, so call ahead before you visit.
Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.
Chapter 12
Pelican Mattress Factory vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Versus regional factory-direct makers (e.g. Texas Mattress Makers, Original Mattress Factory): Pelican offered a comparable bench-built story with a flippable latex-over-coil luxury option, but rivals win decisively on live showrooms, published specs, current prices and enforceable trial and warranty terms. Versus online flippable latex hybrids (e.g.
Layla, GhostBed flex models): Pelican wins on archived price ($425 sale) and hand-sewn positioning; rivals win on live checkout, certifications, published firmness ratings and thousands of verified reviews. Versus contract and dorm bedding suppliers (e.g.
Corsicana, Symbol, institutional lines): Pelican matched the made-to-order and university-housing pitch with sub-$200 archived beds, but national contract suppliers win on active distribution, volume references and reachable sales channels. Versus value all-foam bed-in-box (e.g. Zinus, Lucid): the Dogwood Elite at $199.20 sale undercut many rivals on paper, but rivals win on buyability, size ranges and review depth.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Pelican Mattress Factory. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
Researched Sept 16, 2026. The official site (www.pelican-mattress.com) is gone, so we used older (2020-2023) versions of its pages first (home, irelyn-mattress, product-page irelyn-soft-over-firm-mattress, product-page dogwood-elite-king, product-page university-housing-collection, shop, shopping-university-mattresses, 100-night-trial, about, contact and faq pages), then looked for retailer and review sources.
Brand claims are labeled as brand-reported and gaps recorded rather than filled. Key sources: an older (Sept 2023) version of https://www.pelican-mattress.com/home and the other older pages listed above; no live buyable page, no certifications and no third-party reviews were found.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
Is Pelican Mattress Factory still in business?
Its website is gone as of Sept 2026 with no live checkout, so treat it as closed or inactive until a verified successor proves otherwise.
What was the flagship luxury model?
The Irelyn, a hand-sewn 10 in flippable with a soft eco-latex face and a firm non-latex face over pocketed mini-coils, archived at $475 regular and $425 sale.
How did the 100-night trial work?
Historically, keep the bed 100 nights, call on the 101st night, and the refund return was executed as a charitable donation of your choosing.
What did the warranty cover?
Only a 10-year guarantee headline is known; covered defects, sag limits and claim steps are not published.
Where was it made?
Baton Rouge, Louisiana at 5499 Adams Ave, with Capital Bedding under shared ownership claimed since 1920.
Can I still buy one?
No live channel was found as of Sept 2026; do not pay through the dead site.
Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.