Seattle Mattress Company Review

Models 12 models
Feels Plush and Firm
Trial None published
Warranty 10 years, non-prorated
Owner Reviews Not yet researched
Ship Type Free local delivery and old-bed removal on $699+

The 30-Second Verdict: Quick Summary

Seattle Mattress Company is a family-owned showroom at 6019 15th Ave NW in Ballard, Seattle. It sells Therapedic innerspring and latex hybrids built in Auburn, WA. It also carries Tempur-Pedic, Magniflex, and its own eco-friendly and marine lines. It's best if you want to test beds in person, natural Talalay latex and firm support. The big caveat is that there's no refund sleep trial. You get a comfort exchange only. Online specs are also thin, so you'll want to visit the store.

Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Firmness Plush yet supportive latex feel Not yet researched
Mattress Type Latex Not yet researched
Queen $ Twin $1,499, size not stated Not yet researched
Coil Count 805 count Verticoil Not yet researched
Key Strengths
  • Seattle-area shoppers who want to test mattresses in person
  • Latex and latex-hybrid shoppers, since Talalay ILDs are published
  • Back and stomach sleepers who want firm, resilient support
  • Chemical-sensitive buyers drawn to the no-chemical-fire-retardant claim
  • Boat and RV owners who need custom and marine sizes
  • Bulk and hospitality buyers
Good to Know
  • Online-only shoppers who want full specs, dimensions and weights
  • Shoppers who need a money-back sleep trial or free returns
  • Bargain hunters under $500 in larger sizes
  • Shoppers outside the Seattle delivery area
Chapter 01

Is Seattle Mattress Company the best mattress for you?

Good fit: Seattle-area shoppers who want to test mattresses in person; latex and latex-hybrid shoppers (Talalay ILDs published); back and stomach sleepers wanting firm, resilient support; chemical-sensitive buyers drawn to the no-chemical-fire-retardant claim and the all-natural Highlands; boat and RV owners needing custom and marine sizes; bulk and hospitality buyers.

Poor fit: online-only shoppers wanting full specs, dimensions, and weights before buying; shoppers needing a money-back sleep trial or free returns; bargain hunters under $500 in larger sizes; shoppers outside the Seattle delivery area.

Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Third-party ratings not published. Their scores: Not yet researched. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.

Seattle Mattress Company is a family-owned Ballard showroom at 6019 15th Ave NW, Seattle, selling locally built Therapedic innerspring and latex hybrids (made in Auburn, WA) alongside Tempur-Pedic, Magniflex, and its own eco-friendly and marine lines. Best for hands-on shoppers wanting natural Talalay latex and firm support. Biggest caveat: no refund sleep trial, comfort exchanges only, and online specs are thin.

Auburn, WA
Made in

Not yet researched
Not yet researched

Not yet researched
Not yet researched

When Seattle Mattress Company makes sense
  • Seattle-area shoppers who want to test mattresses in person
  • Latex and latex-hybrid shoppers, since Talalay ILDs are published
  • Back and stomach sleepers who want firm, resilient support
  • Chemical-sensitive buyers drawn to the no-chemical-fire-retardant claim
  • Boat and RV owners who need custom and marine sizes
  • Bulk and hospitality buyers
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
  • Online-only shoppers who want full specs, dimensions and weights
  • Shoppers who need a money-back sleep trial or free returns
  • Bargain hunters under $500 in larger sizes
  • Shoppers outside the Seattle delivery area
Review site scores

How the big review sites score Seattle Mattress Company

Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication Reported Score Configuration Tested Testing Scope Evaluation Focus

Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.

Reading the scores

Why we don't average the scores

Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02

Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you

Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.

Side sleepers: Athena, Aphrodite, and Briarcliff fit best, with 2.5 to 4 inches of Talalay latex over zoned coils for shoulder and hip pressure relief; Briarcliff (ILD 19 latex) is the cushion-firm pick for those wanting contour without sink. Back sleepers: Athena and Briarcliff 5-zone pocket coils plus the firm Kai suit spinal alignment; Hera adds gel cooling.

Stomach sleepers: the firmer Kai and Briarcliff single-sided builds are the closest fits; plusher latex tops may allow too much hip sink. Hot sleepers: CoolMax covers on Hera, Apollo, and Selene plus breathable Talalay latex and cashmere quilting are the cooling story; Hera EcoGel targets heat. Heavy sleepers: coil-based hybrids (Athena, Hera, Briarcliff) over thin value innersprings; per-size weight limits not published as of Sept 2026.

Chemical-sensitive and eco shoppers: Highlands all-natural build and the near-line-wide no-chemical-fire-retardant claim fit best. Budget shoppers: Phoebe (Twin $499) and Selene (Twin $699). Luxury shoppers: Highlands latex system and Magnistretch imports.

Boat, RV, and hotel buyers: custom-size and marine mattresses, volume discounts.

Firmness finder

Which Seattle Mattress Company feel fits you?

Weight chart not yet researched

Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Seattle Mattress Company publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.

Four alignment checkpoints against a neutral posture line Neck Shoulders Lower back Hips level with spine sink in, no pinch no gap below no sag Straight spine line
  1. Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
  2. Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
  3. Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
  4. Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03

Compare the mattresses

Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.

Seattle Mattress Company lists 12 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.

Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress (flagship latex hybrid, Twin $1,499): quilted natural cashmere, 4 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay latex (28 ILD) over 4.5-inch convoluted foam on foam-encased 805-count Verticoil Premier support; plush-yet-supportive latex feel; made in Auburn, WA; 10-year non-prorated warranty.

Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress (balanced hybrid, Twin $1,399): cashmere cover, 2.5-inch natural Talalay latex (28 ILD) plus Talalay and firm foam over an encased 858-coil 5-zoned pocket coil for support with reduced motion transfer; made in Auburn, WA; 10-year non-prorated warranty.

Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress (cooling hybrid, Twin $1,199): CoolMax cover, 2-inch EcoGel gel-infused soy-based foam plus 2.5-inch firm foam over 858-count 5-zone pocket coils. Apollo Innerspring Mattress (midrange innerspring, Twin $799): CoolMax fabric, 5-inch CertiPUR-US convoluted foam over foam-encased 805-coil 5-zone Verticoil.

Selene Innerspring Mattress (value innerspring, Twin $699): same CoolMax plus 5-inch CertiPUR convoluted foam and 805 5-zone Verticoil recipe as Apollo at a lower price. Phoebe Innerspring Mattress (entry innerspring, Twin $499): lowest-priced innerspring; detailed layer specs not published as of Sept 2026.

Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress (heritage natural, Twin $1,099): all-natural cotton and wool over a firm innerspring, hand-tufted old-style build.

Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress (all-latex flagship, Twin $2,598): solid pure natural botanical Talalay core upholstered in organic cotton tufted with wool and latex, paired with a lower-density half-thick topper, double-sided and flippable, no adhesives; 20-year non-prorated warranty; described as the showroom best seller with the fewest exchanges.

Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid (newest cushion-firm hybrid, Twin $1,599): foam-encased pocket coil with 3 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay (ILD 19), single-sided, marketed as firm contouring without a sinking feel. National brands (Magniflex Magnistretch 12 Twin $3,599, Magnistretch Plus Twin $4,299, Tempur-ProAdapt Firm Twin $2,999): carried alongside house and Therapedic lines; specs per those brands.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual Model Build Profile Firmness (brand words) Queen $ Coil Count
Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress, product photo Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress Quilted natural cashmere, 4 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay latex (28 ILD) over 4.5-inch convoluted foam on foam-encased 805-count Verticoil Premier support. Not yet researched Plush yet supportive latex feel Twin $1,499, size not stated 805 count Verticoil
Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress, product photo Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress Cashmere cover, 2.5-inch natural Talalay latex (28 ILD) plus Talalay and firm foam over an encased 858-coil 5-zoned pocket coil. Not yet researched Balanced hybrid Twin $1,399, size not stated 858 coils
Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress, product photo Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress CoolMax cover, 2-inch EcoGel gel-infused soy-based foam plus 2.5-inch firm foam over 858-count 5-zone pocket coils. Not yet researched Cooling hybrid Twin $1,199, size not stated 858 coils
Apollo Innerspring Mattress, product photo Apollo Innerspring Mattress CoolMax fabric, 5-inch CertiPUR-US convoluted foam over foam-encased 805-coil 5-zone Verticoil. Not yet researched Midrange innerspring Twin $799, size not stated 805 coils
Selene Innerspring Mattress, product photo Selene Innerspring Mattress The same CoolMax cover, 5-inch CertiPUR convoluted foam and 805 5-zone Verticoil build as the Apollo. Not yet researched Value innerspring Twin $699, size not stated 805 Coil
Phoebe Innerspring Mattress, product photo Phoebe Innerspring Mattress The lowest-priced innerspring. Layer specs aren't published. Not yet researched Entry innerspring Twin $499, size not stated Not yet researched
Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress, product photo Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress All-natural cotton and wool over a firm innerspring, hand-tufted in an old-style build. Not yet researched Firm Twin $1,099, size not stated Not yet researched
Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress, product photo Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress A solid pure natural botanical Talalay core in organic cotton tufted with wool and latex, with a lower-density topper. It's double-sided and flippable, with no adhesives. 6-inch core plus a half-thick topper All-latex Twin $2,598, size not stated Not yet researched
Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid, product photo Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Foam-encased pocket coil with 3 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay (ILD 19). Not yet researched Cushion-firm, single-sided Twin $1,599, size not stated Not yet researched
Belltown Pocket Coil, product photo Belltown Pocket Coil No live product page was found as of September 2026. It's likely in-store only or discontinued. Not yet researched Extra Firm Not yet researched Not yet researched
Magniflex Magnistretch 12 A national brand carried alongside the house lines. Specs come from Magniflex. Not yet researched Not yet researched Twin $3,599, size not stated Not yet researched
Magniflex Magnistretch Plus A national brand carried alongside the house lines. Specs come from Magniflex. Not yet researched Not yet researched Twin $4,299, size not stated Not yet researched

Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelCoil gaugeCoil countFoam densityLatexILD
Model 1 of 12

Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress: Flagship latex hybrid

Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress
Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Plush yet supportive latex feel
Queen $ Twin $1,499, size not stated
Coil count 805 count Verticoil

Quilted natural cashmere, 4 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay latex (28 ILD) over 4.5-inch convoluted foam on foam-encased 805-count Verticoil Premier support.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 2 of 12

Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress: Not yet researched

Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress, product photo
Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress
Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Balanced hybrid
Queen $ Twin $1,399, size not stated
Coil count 858 coils

Cashmere cover, 2.5-inch natural Talalay latex (28 ILD) plus Talalay and firm foam over an encased 858-coil 5-zoned pocket coil.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 3 of 12

Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress: Not yet researched

Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress, product photo
Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress
Hera Gel Pocket Coil Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Cooling hybrid
Queen $ Twin $1,199, size not stated
Coil count 858 coils

CoolMax cover, 2-inch EcoGel gel-infused soy-based foam plus 2.5-inch firm foam over 858-count 5-zone pocket coils.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 4 of 12

Apollo Innerspring Mattress: Not yet researched

Apollo Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Apollo Innerspring Mattress
Apollo Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Midrange innerspring
Queen $ Twin $799, size not stated
Coil count 805 coils

CoolMax fabric, 5-inch CertiPUR-US convoluted foam over foam-encased 805-coil 5-zone Verticoil.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 5 of 12

Selene Innerspring Mattress: Not yet researched

Selene Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Selene Innerspring Mattress
Selene Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Value innerspring
Queen $ Twin $699, size not stated
Coil count 805 Coil

The same CoolMax cover, 5-inch CertiPUR convoluted foam and 805 5-zone Verticoil build as the Apollo.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 6 of 12

Phoebe Innerspring Mattress: Not yet researched

Phoebe Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Phoebe Innerspring Mattress
Phoebe Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Entry innerspring
Queen $ Twin $499, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

The lowest-priced innerspring. Layer specs aren't published.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 7 of 12

Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress: Heritage natural

Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress
Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Firm
Queen $ Twin $1,099, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

All-natural cotton and wool over a firm innerspring, hand-tufted in an old-style build.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 8 of 12

Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress: All-latex flagship, double-sided and flippable

Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress, product photo
Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress
Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex Mattress, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile 6-inch core plus a half-thick topper
Firmness All-latex
Queen $ Twin $2,598, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

A solid pure natural botanical Talalay core in organic cotton tufted with wool and latex, with a lower-density topper. It's double-sided and flippable, with no adhesives.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 9 of 12

Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid: Cushion-firm hybrid

Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid, product photo
Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid
Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Cushion-firm, single-sided
Queen $ Twin $1,599, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

Foam-encased pocket coil with 3 inches of 100% natural botanical Talalay (ILD 19).

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 10 of 12

Belltown Pocket Coil: Not yet researched

Belltown Pocket Coil, product photo
Belltown Pocket Coil
Belltown Pocket Coil, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Extra Firm
Queen $ Not yet researched
Not yet researched Not yet researched

No live product page was found as of September 2026. It's likely in-store only or discontinued.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 11 of 12

Magniflex Magnistretch 12: Not yet researched

Magniflex Magnistretch 12
Magniflex Magnistretch 12, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Not yet researched
Queen $ Twin $3,599, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

A national brand carried alongside the house lines. Specs come from Magniflex.

Best For

Consider Instead If

Model 12 of 12

Magniflex Magnistretch Plus: Not yet researched

Magniflex Magnistretch Plus
Magniflex Magnistretch Plus, product photo
Construction Not yet researched
Profile Not yet researched
Firmness Not yet researched
Queen $ Twin $4,299, size not stated
Not yet researched Not yet researched

A national brand carried alongside the house lines. Specs come from Magniflex.

Best For

Consider Instead If

The full lineup

Every Seattle Mattress Company mattress, past and present

Why this matters to you:
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelSoldStatus
Aphrodite Latex/Innerspring MattressNot foundSold now
Athena Latex/Pocket Coil Hybrid MattressNot foundSold now
Hera Gel Pocket Coil MattressNot foundSold now
Apollo Innerspring MattressNot foundSold now
Selene Innerspring MattressNot foundSold now
Phoebe Innerspring MattressNot foundSold now
Kai Wool And Cotton Innerspring MattressNot foundSold now
Highlands 100% Natural Talalay Latex MattressNot foundSold now
Briarcliff Latex/Pocket Coil HybridNot foundSold now
Belltown Pocket CoilNot foundSold now
Magniflex Magnistretch 12Not foundSold now
Magniflex Magnistretch PlusNot foundSold now

Chapter 04

Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying

Mattress prices and value

Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.

Twin-size prices published on seattlemattress.net (page notes prices shown are for Twin): Phoebe $499; Selene $699; Apollo $799; Kai $1,099; Hera $1,199; Athena $1,399; Aphrodite $1,499; Briarcliff $1,599; Highlands $2,598; Tempur-ProAdapt Firm $2,999; Magnistretch 12 $3,599; Magnistretch Plus $4,299.

Larger sizes cost more (e.g., Athena up to $2,099, Aphrodite up to $2,499, Highlands up to $4,198, Apollo up to $1,399, Hera up to $1,899, Kai up to $1,799, Selene up to $1,399, Phoebe up to $949, Briarcliff up to $2,299 per variant prices observed).

Value take: strong for locally built latex hybrids under $1,700 Twin with published latex ILDs and coil counts; Highlands near $2,600 Twin is premium but pairs a flippable two-piece latex system with a 20-year warranty; national-brand flagships run $3,000 to $4,300 Twin. Financing, sale cadence, and per-size dimension charts: not published as of Sept 2026.

Not yet researched

White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.

Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.

Are the expensive ones worth it?

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
ModelBuy Seattle Mattress Company IfSkip IfBuy Instead
Chapter 05

How well do the mattresses hold up?

Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.

The brand positions durability around natural latex resiliency and local Auburn, WA craftsmanship: the Highlands page calls itself the showroom best seller with the least exchanges and highest satisfaction, claims the latex system holds shape, comfort, and resiliency for two decades with only the topper eventually needing replacement, and backs it with a 20-year non-prorated warranty; Therapedic innerspring and hybrid models carry 10-year non-prorated warranties.

No-chemical-fire-retardant and all-new-materials claims support the longevity story. Independent long-term wear testing, sag-depth thresholds, and owner-reported lifespan data: not published as of Sept 2026, so treat the two-decade claim as a brand claim, not verified performance.

What to watch for, and when:

Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches

Company History & Model Evolution

Show the full company history
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.

What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say

The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYS20-year non-prorated warranty on Highlands NOT PUBLISHEDNo independent long-term wear testing
THE BRAND SAYS10-year non-prorated on Therapedic models NOT PUBLISHEDNo GOTS, GOLS or OEKO-TEX
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched

Where sources disagree

Chapter 06

Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees

Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.

No money-back sleep trial or free-return policy is published; the store offers a one-time comfort exchange per mattress instead. If the comfort level feels wrong, you may exchange within 90 days of receipt for a better-suited mattress, with the first 30 days recommended as break-in time before deciding.

Price differences settle as store credit (cheaper exchange) or additional payment (pricier exchange); redelivery on exchanges costs extra, or you may drop off and pick up free. Excluded from any comfort exchange: custom sizes, marine mattresses, floor models, and mattresses already sold as comfort exchanges, which are deeply discounted final sale. Restocking and pickup fees beyond the exchange delivery charge: not published as of Sept 2026.

Your trial, night by night
  1. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
  2. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
  3. Not yet researchedNot yet researched
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNot publishedNot yet researched
Swap itExtra delivery charge, or free drop off and pick upOne comfort exchange per mattress

Not covered by the trial: Custom sizes, marine mattresses, floor models, prior comfort exchanges

Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.

Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Seattle Mattress Company.
Chapter 07

Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal

Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.

Local Seattle delivery with a working-lead-time model: ordering by Sunday typically allows delivery the following Friday; turnaround for custom and marine builds varies.

Orders of $699 or more within the local area (roughly as far north as Shoreline NW 205th St and as far south as the International District and Madrona, full ZIP list on the FAQ page) get delivery plus old-bed removal at no extra charge; under $699 or outside the area, self pickup is recommended as most cost-effective. Long-distance deliveries add charges, including $75 per extra hour or part-hour beyond an hour each way plus ferry and toll fees.

Setup specifics (room-of-choice, stairs, assembly) and old-mattress recycling details: not published as of Sept 2026. Exchange deliveries incur an additional delivery charge, or drop off and pick up free.

Typical wait: Order by Sunday, delivered the following Friday

Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08

Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy

What do the warranties cover?

Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.

Therapedic models built in Auburn, WA carry a 10-year non-prorated warranty (stated on Aphrodite, Athena, and Phoebe pages); the Highlands all-latex system carries a 20-year non-prorated full warranty. The site states mattresses are backed by full manufacturer warranties covering manufacturing defects, with Tempur-Pedic and Magniflex governed by their makers' terms.

Sag-depth thresholds, foundation requirements, stain and law-tag conditions, and claim shipping costs: not published as of Sept 2026. Comfort preference is handled through the 90-day exchange policy, not the warranty, and final-sale categories (custom, marine, floor models, comfort-exchange resales) have no exchange recourse.

Measuring a mattress dip with a straight edge and a ruler Straight edge across the bed Dip depth Mattress, nobody lying on it

Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.

  1. Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
  2. Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
  3. Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Chapter 09

Review counts checked on each site · they change daily

Customer reviews and complaints

Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.

Aggregated third-party ratings (Google, Yelp) with counts and averages: not published as of Sept 2026, as review platforms could not be verified during research. On-site brand claims: the Highlands is described as the showroom best seller with the fewest exchanges and highest customer satisfaction, and the company notes volume and hospitality business plus deeply discounted final-sale comfort-exchange floor inventory.

Common praise themes per brand copy: local craftsmanship, latex comfort, and competitive pricing. Recurring complaint themes from verified reviewers: not published as of Sept 2026; shoppers should confirm comfort-exchange terms before buying since returns are exchange-only.

How we read the reviews

Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.

Reported praise and concerns:

Review sites side by side

What each review site says

Not yet researched

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform Rating Sample
Chapter 10

What are the mattresses made of?

Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.

Quilting fabrics: natural cashmere (Aphrodite, Athena), CoolMax breathable fabric (Hera, Apollo, Selene), organic cotton tufted with 100% natural wool and latex (Highlands), cotton batting and wool hand-tufted (Kai).

Comfort layers: 100% natural botanical Talalay latex at 28 ILD (Aphrodite 4-inch, Athena 2.5-inch) and ILD 19 (Briarcliff 3-inch); CertiPUR-US convoluted foam (Apollo, Selene 5-inch); EcoGel gel-infused soy-based foam (Hera 2-inch) plus firm support foam.

Support cores: foam-encased 805-count 5-zone Verticoil innerspring (Aphrodite, Apollo, Selene), encased 858-coil 5-zoned pocket coil (Athena, Hera), foam-encased pocket coil (Briarcliff), firm innerspring coil (Kai), solid 6-inch pure natural botanical Talalay core plus matching lower-density topper (Highlands). Fire barriers: site states almost all mattresses contain no chemical fire retardants and use all-new materials.

Certifications beyond CertiPUR-US foam mentions (e.g., GOTS, GOLS, OEKO-TEX): not published as of Sept 2026.

The materials, in plain words

EcoGel

Gel-infused soy-based foam

Used in: Hera

Safety labels, and what each one covers

CertiPUR-US
Convoluted foam in Apollo and Selene
Our research sheet lists this certification for Seattle Mattress Company. We have not yet checked it with the certifier.
What these labels do and don't prove

Read your law tag

How to read the law tag in three steps

Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide

How to read a mattress law tag

The three steps

1
Natural botanical Talalay latex

2
Foam-encased 805-count Verticoil

3
EcoGel gel-infused soy-based foam

Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.

How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11

Where can you try and buy the mattresses?

Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.

Try in person at the single Ballard showroom: 6019 15th Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107, phone (206) 632-2240, open 7 days a week 11am to 7pm. Buy in store or online through the Wix storefront at seattlemattress.net, which lists Therapedic, Seattle Mattress brand, Magniflex, Tempur-Pedic, eco-friendly, and marine categories plus pillows, bedding, and adjustable bases.

No additional retail locations, authorized dealers, or marketplace storefronts verified as of Sept 2026; hospitality and bulk volume purchasing is offered direct.

Showroom Network
Ballard showroom, Seattle
Open 7 days, 11am to 7pm
Store Access
Online at seattlemattress.net
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Local delivery with old-bed removal
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched

How to test a bed in the store

Where Seattle Mattress Company sells

A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.

Scroll sideways to see the whole table
# Channel Where Address Type
1 Seattle Ballard 6019 15th Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107 Showroom
Hours change by location, so call ahead before you visit.

Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.

Chapter 12

Seattle Mattress Company vs. other mattress brands

Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.

Versus national innerspring brands (Sealy, Beautyrest, Serta): Seattle Mattress leans on locally built Therapedic hybrids with published Talalay ILDs and coil counts at competitive prices rather than national advertising. Versus latex specialists (Avocado, Savvy Rest, PlushBeds): Highlands and the Talalay hybrids offer comparable natural-latex stories with in-person testing, but lack published GOTS/GOLS certifications.

Versus bed-in-box DTC brands: no compressed shipping, no free trial, no free returns, but you get a real showroom and local delivery with old-bed removal. Versus local factory-direct shops: the Auburn-built Therapedic line plus marine and custom capabilities is the differentiator; single-showroom reach is the limitation.

More brand reviews to compare: SAMINA, SaniSnooze, Savoir Beds, SensorPEDIC, Serenia Sleep, Serta Hospitality.

Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13

How we research and report

This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Seattle Mattress Company. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.

This brand review was researched in Sept 2026 from the official site first (seattlemattress.net category and product pages, FAQ, and About content), then category listings for prices and specs. Every model claim above comes from on-page product descriptions or variant-price data; policy claims come from the FAQ page. Third-party review platforms could not be verified, so no star ratings or complaint themes are asserted.

Gaps are labeled not published as of Sept 2026 rather than filled by inference, and national-brand models (Tempur-Pedic, Magniflex) are covered under their makers for full specs.

How we check this page
Stage 01 Factory

Who built the bed

Stage 02 Test results

Outside test results

Stage 03 Safety

Fire safety papers and the law tag

Stage 04 Pressure and motion

Outside pressure and motion tests

Stage 05 Reviews

Review scores, side by side

Quick Answers

Quick Answers Before You Buy

Safety and materials
Buying and policies

Where is Seattle Mattress Company located?

One Ballard showroom at 6019 15th Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107, open daily 11am to 7pm, phone (206) 632-2240; it also sells online at seattlemattress.net.

Are its mattresses made locally?

The Therapedic line is made in Auburn, WA; Tempur-Pedic and Magniflex models are made by their manufacturers.

Is there a sleep trial?

No money-back trial is published; you get one comfort exchange per mattress within 90 days of receipt, excluding custom, marine, floor-model, and prior comfort-exchange items.

What does delivery cost?

Orders of $699-plus in the local area include delivery and old-bed removal free; smaller or distant orders are cheaper as pickup, and exchange redelivery costs extra.

What warranties apply?

10-year non-prorated on Therapedic models and 20-year non-prorated on the Highlands latex system, plus makers' warranties on national brands.

What is the Belltown Pocket Coil?

It's a listed model with no live product page found as of September 2026. Confirm availability in the store before you visit.

Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.

Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required