Owner Reviews4.5 from 30,215 reviews (brand's site)
Ship TypeFree shipping
The 30-Second Verdict: Quick Summary
Eight Sleep, founded in 2014 in New York, is a sleep-tech brand. Its core product is the Pod cover system, not a traditional mattress. Pod 5 starts at $2,999, and you must also pay for an Autopilot plan. Its 5-layer Premium Mattress costs $1,899 and has a 30-night trial. It exists only as a Pod companion. It's best for hot sleepers who want dual-zone cooling. As a standalone mattress buy, it's weak value.
Premium MattressP
Premium Mattress, product photo
FirmnessMediumNot yet researched
Mattress TypeAll-foam11 inches tall
Queen $$1,899, size not statedNot yet researched
Coil CountNot yet researchedNot yet researched
Key Strengths
Hot sleepers
Couples with mismatched temperature needs
Tech-forward buyers who accept a mandatory Autopilot plan
Pod owners who want the purpose-built companion mattress
Good to Know
Bargain shoppers
Buyers who want a standalone mattress with a long trial
Latex, innerspring or organic shoppers
Anyone unwilling to pay a monthly software plan
Anyone wary of a water-circulating electronic system
Good fit: hot sleepers and couples with mismatched temperature needs who want app-controlled dual-zone cooling to 55F and heating to 110F plus sleep tracking; tech-forward buyers who accept a mandatory Autopilot subscription; Pod owners wanting the purpose-built companion mattress.
Poor fit: bargain shoppers; buyers wanting a standalone mattress with a long trial and strong solo value; latex, innerspring or organic shoppers; anyone unwilling to pay a monthly software plan or rely on a water-circulating electronic system.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Not yet researched. Their scores: Not found. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
Eight Sleep, founded 2014 in New York, is a sleep-tech brand whose core product is the thermoregulating Pod cover system (Pod 5 from $2,999 plus a required Autopilot plan), not traditional mattresses. Its 5-layer Premium Mattress ($1,899, 30-night trial) exists only as a Pod companion. Best for hot sleepers wanting dual-zone cooling; weak value as a standalone mattress buy.
2014, New York
Founded
4.5 from 30,215 reviews
Owner reviews
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
When Eight Sleep makes sense
Hot sleepers
Couples with mismatched temperature needs
Tech-forward buyers who accept a mandatory Autopilot plan
Pod owners who want the purpose-built companion mattress
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Bargain shoppers
Buyers who want a standalone mattress with a long trial
Latex, innerspring or organic shoppers
Anyone unwilling to pay a monthly software plan
Anyone wary of a water-circulating electronic system
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Eight Sleep
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Hot sleepers: the Pod 5 Cover is the entire point of the brand, with per-side cooling to 55F aimed at overheating, night sweats and hot flashes; the Premium Mattress alone has no active cooling and suits only Pod pairing. Side sleepers: Medium-positioned all-foam companion mattress offers contouring in theory, but per-position guidance is not published.
Back and stomach sleepers: no firmness options and no positional guidance published; single-model lineup cannot serve divergent support needs. Couples: dual-zone independent climate is the key fit. Heavier sleepers: weight guidance, coil-free support limits and edge-support details are not published as of Sept 2026.
Firmness finder
Which Eight Sleep feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Eight Sleep publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Eight Sleep lists 2 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
Premium Mattress (seed model: Premium 11in All-Foam Medium Pod Base): the only standalone mattress on the live site, described as a 5-layer breathable supportive mattress designed to pair with the Pod Cover; price $1,899; sizes Full 54 x 75 in, Queen 60 x 80 in, King 76 x 80 in, Cali King 72 x 84 in; 30-night risk-free trial, free returns, free shipping; per-layer foam specs, firmness rating and thickness figure are not spelled out in retrieved page copy beyond the seed model name denoting 11-inch all-foam Medium.
Pod 5 Cover system (current flagship, Hub + 1-inch water-circulating Cover that retrofits any mattress): dual-zone cooling to 55F and heating to 110F, per-side auto-adjustment, heart rate, HRV, sleep-phase and snore tracking, silent vibration wake; Pod 5 starts at $2,999 and totals about $3,298 with the first year of Autopilot; Autopilot plan required for the first 12 months (Enhanced $25/mo or $299/yr); 30-night trial, free shipping and returns, 2-year standard warranty extendable to 5 years with membership., so legacy Pod 4 details are not published as of Sept 2026.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
P
Premium Mattress
5-layer all-foam
11 inches
Medium
$1,899, size not stated
P
Pod 5 Cover system
A Hub plus a 1 in water-circulating cover that fits any mattress. Dual-zone cooling to 55F and heating to 110F, with heart rate, HRV, sleep-phase and snore tracking.
1 inch
Not applicable
$2,999, size not stated
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 2
Premium Mattress: Companion mattress for the Pod Cover
P
Premium Mattress
Premium Mattress, product photo
Construction5-layer all-foam
Profile11 inches
FirmnessMedium
Queen $$1,899, size not stated
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
A 5-layer all-foam mattress designed to pair with the Pod Cover. Sizes are Full 54 x 75 in, Queen 60 x 80 in, King 76 x 80 in and Cali King 72 x 84 in.
Pod 5 Cover system: Cooling and heating for hot sleepers and couples
P
Pod 5 Cover system
Pod 5 Cover system, product photo
ConstructionNot yet researched
Profile1 inch
FirmnessNot applicable
Queen $$2,999, size not stated
Dual-zone temperatureNot yet researched
A Hub plus a 1 in water-circulating cover that fits any mattress. Dual-zone cooling to 55F and heating to 110F, with heart rate, HRV, sleep-phase and snore tracking.
Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
Premium Mattress $1,899 live (page code also shows $1,999 and $2,099 points; archived page showed $1,899 against $1,999 with $100 off); Pod 5 Cover points of $2,799, $2,999 and $3,199 in page code with a $2,999 example totaling $3,298 with Autopilot Enhanced ($25/mo or $299/yr, mandatory for the first 12 months, so true first-year Pod cost exceeds $3,200).
Accessories: heat-dissipating pillow $199, Pod Protector $119, Sleep Essentials Bundle (sheet set, protector, two pillows) $415 with a $200 bundle saving claim. Financing via Affirm/Klarna is offered with rates from 0-36% APR subject to eligibility.
Value read: defensible only as a sleep-tech system for hot sleepers who will use dual-zone automation daily; as a standalone mattress the Premium is poor value (single model, short trial, thin specs) versus mainstream bed-in-box rivals.
Eight Sleep prices by size
Full
54 x 75 inNot yet researched
Queen
60 x 80 inNot yet researched
King
76 x 80 inNot yet researched
Cali King
72 x 84 inNot yet researched
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Eight Sleep If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Brand-reported durability: the Pod line carries a standard 2-year limited warranty against manufacturing defects under normal in-home non-commercial use with repair or replacement, extendable to a 5-year limited warranty for direct buyers holding a qualifying Autopilot Enhanced or Elite membership; a 1-year term applies to the original Smart Bed.
A standalone Premium Mattress warranty duration and sag threshold are not stated on the mattress page as of Sept 2026. Care guidance, weight limits, foundation requirements and expected lifespan: not published as of Sept 2026. Independent durability testing (rollator, ASTM or third-party longevity data): not published as of Sept 2026.
Company track record: operating since 2014 from New York, Pod line through multiple generations (Pod 3, Pod 4, Pod 5 named in warranty terms), which is brand-reported rather than independent verification.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
2014Founded
Eight Sleep, founded 2014 in New York
Founded in New York
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYS2-year Pod warranty, 5 with membership
NOT PUBLISHEDNo independent durability testing
THE BRAND SAYSOperating since 2014
NOT PUBLISHEDNo standalone mattress warranty
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNo foam specs published
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
30-night risk-free trial on both the Premium Mattress and the Pod, advertised as enjoy it at home and return for a full refund if you do not love it, with free returns and no-cost hassle-free returns language. Return mechanics (carrier pickup vs drop-off, return window start date, refund timing), exchange policy, and restocking, shipping-deduction or damage fees: not published as of Sept 2026.
Mattress trial comparisons: 30 nights is short versus the 100-plus-night norms of mainstream bed-in-box brands. Shoppers should confirm trial start date, Pod water-drainage return steps, and any membership-fee refundability before buying.
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Eight Sleep.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
The homepage advertises free shipping in 35-plus countries. An archived copy of the brand's site from 2026 showed orders shipping in a Jul 6 to Jul 13 window. The brand doesn't publish cost tiers, transit times, tracking or geographic exclusions (checked September 2026).
Delivery: free shipping advertised, stated as free shipping in 35-plus countries on the homepage excerpt;. Cost tiers, exact transit times, tracking, geographic exclusions, threshold or room-of-choice specifics: not published as of Sept 2026. Setup: the Cover retrofits an existing mattress (1 inch thick, no mattress swap needed) with a Hub unit and app pairing; step-by-step setup content was not retrieved.
Mattress expansion or off-gassing guidance: not published. White-glove setup and old-mattress removal: not published as of Sept 2026.
Typical wait: Not published
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
Pod warranty per the official warranty page: standard 2-year limited warranty covering manufacturing defects under normal in-home non-commercial use with repair or replacement at no cost; 1-year term for the original Eight Sleep Smart Bed; 2-year terms expressly cover Pod Pro, Pod Pro Max, Pod Pro Cover, Pod 3, Pod 4, Pod 5, Pod 5 Blanket and Pod 5 Base.
Extended coverage: up to a 5-year limited warranty for direct buyers with a qualifying membership plan such as Autopilot Enhanced or Autopilot Elite at checkout. Commercial use, misuse, comfort preference and consumable exclusions follow standard limited-warranty framing; full exclusions and claim steps are not published in the overview.
Premium Mattress standalone warranty term and indentation threshold: not published as of Sept 2026; only the 30-night trial, free returns and free shipping are advertised on the mattress page.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
Brand-site reviews page headline: 4.5 score alongside Based on 30,215 reviews, with praise for dual-zone climate solving couples temperature mismatch, relief from overheating, sweating and hot flashes, sleep tracking and auto-adjustment, and celebrity endorsements; no complaints appear on that page.
Independent ratings (Trustpilot, BBB, Google) and complaint specifics such as subscription objections, leak reports, reliability or support themes: we could not confirm them as of Sept 2026. The largest documented caveat comes from official terms rather than reviews: Autopilot is required for the first 12 months, so the system cannot be used plan-free in year one.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not yet researched
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Sample
Platform mark:eightsleep.com
4.5
30,215
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
Premium Mattress: 5-layer all-foam construction per the model name, marketed as breathable and supportive to pair with the Cover; per-layer foam types, densities, ILDs, cover fabric, fire barrier, quilt and adhesive details are not published as of Sept 2026.
Pod 5 Cover: fitted 1-inch water-circulating cover plus under-bed Hub and app/Autopilot software, optional elevating Base, blanket and pillow covers; exact textiles, tube materials, coolant specifications and Hub components are not published in retrieved copy. Certifications (CertiPUR-US, OEKO-TEX, GOTS, GOLS, Greenguard) for either product: not published as of Sept 2026.
Safety labels, and what each one covers
Certifications
Not yet researched
We have not yet verified Eight Sleep's certification claims with the certifiers themselves.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
1-inch water-circulating Cover
2
Under-bed Hub
3
Not yet researched
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
Direct only: eightsleep.com (Premium Mattress page, Pod cover page, accessories, reviews). No brand-owned showrooms, dealer network, or third-party retail listings (Amazon, mattress chains) were found as of Sept 2026;, while /product/pod-5-ultra/ and /product/pod-4-ultra/ returned 404.
Contact, phone ordering, live chat and trial-room specifics: not published as of Sept 2026 beyond standard site navigation (How the Pod works, Accessories, Reviews, Shop the Pod).
Showroom Network
Direct only at eightsleep.com
Not yet researched
Store Access
No showrooms or dealers
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
30-night home trial
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Not yet researched
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Eight Sleep sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
Type
1
Online
Online
Not yet researched. Checked Not yet researched.
Chapter 12
Eight Sleep vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Versus Sleepme ChiliPad/Dolce (water-based cooling toppers): Eight Sleep wins on dual-zone automation, biometric tracking and integrated app/ Autopilot intelligence; rivals compete on lower buy-in cost, with per-brand trial, warranty and subscription differences to verify. Versus BedJet (air-based cooling): Eight Sleep wins on silent water-based dual-zone cooling plus tracking; BedJet-style air systems compete on simplicity, with specs to verify.
Versus Tempur-Pedic and Saatva (traditional mattresses): those brands win decisively as mattress-only buys with broader model ranges, longer trials and published mattress warranties; Eight Sleep wins only for hot sleepers who specifically want active temperature technology. Versus Eight Sleep legacy Pods: Pod 5 is the live flagship;.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Eight Sleep. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
Researched Sept 16-17, 2026 from official eightsleep.com pages first (homepage, live Premium Mattress page with price-code extraction, Pod cover page, reviews page, warranty page) and Wikipedia for founding facts (2014; founders Matteo Franceschetti, Massimo Andreasi Bassi, Andrea Ballarini, Alexandra Zatarain; New York).
We could not find independent ratings or complaint themes (Sleep Foundation, Sleepopolis, Mattress Clarity, Toms Guide, Wirecutter, Trustpilot) as of Sept 2026. Key sources: https://www.eightsleep.com/product/premium-mattress/, https://www.eightsleep.com/product/pod-cover/, https://www.eightsleep.com/reviews/, https://www.eightsleep.com/warranty and https://www.eightsleep.com/.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
Is Eight Sleep still selling mattresses?
Yes, one model: the Premium Mattress ($1,899 live) is reachable as of Sept 2026, but it is positioned strictly as a companion to the Pod Cover, not a standalone lineup.
Is the Pod a mattress or a cover?
A Hub-plus-cover system that adds dual-zone cooling to 55F and heating to 110F atop your existing mattress; the 1-inch Cover needs no mattress swap.
What does the Pod really cost?
$2,799-$3,199 hardware points plus a mandatory first-12-month Autopilot plan (Enhanced $25/mo or $299/yr), pushing true first-year cost above $3,200.
How long is the trial and warranty?
30-night risk-free trial with free returns, and a 2-year limited Pod warranty extendable to 5 years with a qualifying membership.
Can I use the Pod without a subscription?
Not in year one: an Autopilot plan is required for the first 12 months per official terms.
Where can I try one?
No showrooms or retail partners were found; purchase is direct from eightsleep.com with the 30-night home trial as the try-before-you-buy path.
Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.